New Women's Under-17 EURO season begins

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship qualifying round runs until 31 October, with 44 of the 46 entrants beginning their bids to lift the trophy in the Czech Republic.


The road to the Czech Republic begins on Tuesday when the first of the 11 UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship qualifying round groups kick off in Israel.

Road to the Czech Republic
• Israel host the first group between Tuesday 20 and Sunday 25 September with Switzerland, Denmark and Slovakia also involved.

• Germany launch their title defence in Latvia on 2 October.

• Malta make their debut at this level against Sweden in Greece on 6 October.

• The last games are in Portugal and the Republic of Ireland on 31 October.

• The top two in each group and the third-placed team with the best record against the leading pair in their section accompany top seeds Spain into the 24-team elite round draw on 11 November.

• In the elite round next spring, the six group winners and the runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section join hosts the Czech Republic in the finals from 2–14 May.

How Germany won the 2016 finals
How Germany won the 2016 finals

Qualifying round groups
Group 1 (20–25 September):
Switzerland, Denmark, Slovakia, Israel*

Group 2 (6–11 October): Sweden, Greece*, Montenegro, Malta

Group 3 (8–13 October): Poland, Hungary*, Azerbaijan, Estonia

Group 4 (21–26 October): Norway, Netherlands, Bulgaria, Moldova*

Group 5 (26–31 October): Italy, Finland, Portugal*, Georgia

Group 6 (10–15 October): France, Scotland*, Croatia, Kazakhstan

Group 7 (2–7 October): Germany (holders), Turkey, Wales, Latvia*

Group 8 (24–29 October): England, Russia, Slovenia, Lithuania*

Group 9 (26 September–1 October): Belgium, Serbia*, Romania, Ukraine

Group 10 (26–31 October): Republic of Ireland*, Iceland, Belarus, Faroe Islands

Group 11 (30 September–5 October): Austria, Northern Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia*


Bye to elite round: Spain

Bye to final tournament: Czech Republic (hosts)