Women's Under-17 EURO elite round guide

Holders Germany take on the Republic of Ireland, Iceland and Azerbaijan as the elite round kicks off, with seven spots on offer in May's finals in Lithuania.


The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship elite round starts on Thursday as the seven teams joining hosts Lithuania in May's finals are decided.

• The seven group winners qualify to join Lithuania in the finals from 9 to 21 May. The draw is on 6 April at the Kaunas State Musical Theatre.

• The top three finishers in the finals will qualify for the 2018 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup from 13 November to 1 December in Uruguay.

2017 final highlights
2017 final highlights

The groups
Group 1 (23–29 March):
Netherlands*, Belgium, Portugal, Romania

Group 2 (22–28 March): Sweden, France*, Scotland, Finland

Group 3 (8–14 March): Spain, Denmark, Russia, Israel*

Group 4 (23–29 March): Hungary*, Serbia, Czech Republic, Italy

Group 5 (25–31 March): England, Norway*, Switzerland, Slovenia

Group 6 (19–25 March): Austria, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Turkey

Group 7 (22–28 March): Germany* (holders), Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Azerbaijan


• Azerbaijan and Israel are in this stage for the first time; Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Hungary, Romania, Russia, Slovenia and Turkey are also aiming to join Lithuania in making their finals debuts.

• Germany are chasing a third straight title and seventh overall; Spain, who have reached every final since the expansion to an eight-team tournament in 2013/14, have won the competition three times, with Poland the only other champions.