WU17 EURO elite round latest

The Netherlands have joined hosts Bulgaria in May's finals with six more places to be decided by 30 March.

The Netherlands won their elite round group
The Netherlands won their elite round group ©Getty Images

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship elite round has begun as Bulgaria's seven rivals in May's finals are decided this month.

Elite round groups

Group 1 (21–27 March): England, Greece, Hungary (hosts), Georgia

Group 2

Group 3 (23–29 March): Spain (holders), Poland, Sweden (hosts), Slovakia

Group 4 (20–26 March): Germany, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Scotland (hosts)

Group 5 (23–29 March): France, Portugal (hosts), Czech Republic, Northern Ireland

Group 6 (21–27 March): Denmark, Italy (hosts), Iceland, Slovenia

Group 7 (24–30 March): Belgium, Austria (hosts), Finland, Wales

2018 final highlights: Germany 0-2 Spain
2018 final highlights: Germany 0-2 Spain

• The seven group winners qualify to join hosts Bulgaria in the finals from 5 to 17 May. The draw will be made at 10:30CET (11:30 local) on 5 April at Flamingo Grand Hotel & Spa, Albena.

  • Netherlands striker Nikita Tromp's one strike added to her 11 qualifying round goals took her career total to 21 – breaking the competition record previously held by Vivianne Miedema and Claudia Pina.
  • Holders Spain have reached the last five finals, and are are on four titles, two behind Germany.
  • In Spain's group are the only side other than the current champions and Germany to have won the title, Poland, and the team they beat in the 2013 final, Sweden.
  • Spain beat Poland to go through from last season's group stage in Lithuania.
  • Ireland beat Germany in 2010 to reach the final, the first time the then-holders had ever been knocked out of the three-year-old tournament.
  • Georgia are in their debut elite round while Northern Ireland, Wales, Slovenia, Slovakia, Russia, Hungary and Greece are all aiming to join hosts Bulgaria in qualifying for their first WU17 EURO finals.