2020/21 #WU19EURO qualifying round draw

The groups will be played in October, beginning the road to the finals in Belarus.

Esme Morgan (right) makes the draw
Esme Morgan (right) makes the draw ©UEFA.com

The 2020/21 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship qualifying round draw has been made in Nyon by Esme Morgan, captain of the England team at the 2019 finals, who received the UEFA Respect Fair Play award on behalf of her side.

Group 1 (25 November–1 December): Czech Republic, Portugal (hosts), Romania, Latvia

Group 2 (24 November–1 December): Italy, Serbia (hosts), Ukraine, Andorra

Group 3 (25 November–1 December): France, Slovakia, Wales (hosts), North Macedonia

Group 4 (25 November–1 December): Germany, Austria, Croatia (hosts), Kazakhstan

Group 5 (25 November–1 December): Norway, Poland (hosts), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Faroe Islands

Group 6 (25 November–1 December): Scotland (hosts), Hungary, Montenegro, Estonia

Group 7 (25 November–1 December): Belgium (hosts), Sweden, Azerbaijan, Cyprus

Group 8 (25 November–1 December): Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Turkey, Armenia (hosts)

Group 9 (25 November–1 December): Denmark, Russia, Albania (hosts), Moldova

Group 10 (25 November–1 December): Netherlands (hosts), Slovenia, Israel, Lithuania

Group 11 (25 November–1 December): Finland, Iceland, Bulgaria (hosts), Georgia

Group 12  (25 November–1 December): England, Republic of Ireland, Greece (hosts), Kosovo

• Andorra are making their debut.

• The top two in each group progress to the elite round in spring 2021 along with the three third-placed teams with the best record against the leading pair in their group plus top seeds Spain.

• Seven teams will qualify from the elite round for the finals in Belarus that summer, joining the hosts.

How the draw worked

Draw procedure & seeding pots
Pot A:
France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, Denmark, England, Italy, Finland, Scotland, Belgium, Czech Republic

Pot B: Sweden, Republic of Ireland, Austria, Poland, Hungary, Iceland, Portugal, Russia*, Serbia*, Slovakia, Slovenia, Northern Ireland

Pot C: Turkey, Ukraine*, Azerbaijan*, Greece, Wales, Israel, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Croatia, Romania, Bulgaria, Albania, Montenegro

Pot D: Faroe Islands, Kosovo*, Latvia, Lithuania, North Macedonia, Moldova, Georgia, Estonia, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Armenia*, Andorra (debut)

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, the following pairs of teams could not be drawn together: Russia & Ukraine, Russia & Kosovo, Serbia & Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina & Kosovo, Azerbaijan & Armenia

Bye to elite round: Spain

Bye to final tournament: Belarus (hosts)

Who is involved?
• Hosts Belarus qualify directly for the final tournament in July/August 2021.

• Top seeds Spain have a bye to the elite round in spring 2021 while the other 48 entrants start in next autumn's qualifying round where they are split into 12 groups of four.

The draw
• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list, with the 12 countries with the highest ranking in Pot A, the next 12 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group has one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.

• The top two in each group progress to the elite round along with the three third-placed teams with the best record against the leading pair in their group.