Destination Belarus for hopefuls

The 2008/09 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship begins with the first qualifying round in September with the finals in Belarus the eventual aim.


The 2008/09 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship first qualifying round is played in September with 44 nations chasing seven places in the maiden continental final tournament to be held in Belarus.

The entrants, including 2007/08 winners Italy, runners-up Norway and neighbours England and Scotland – who both played in July's finals in France and are in the same group – will compete in the first stage from 25-30 September with the top two teams in each of the eleven sections moving through along with the third-placed side with the best record against the leading pair in their pool. Those 23 teams will be joined by top seeds Germany in November's draw for the second qualifying round draw, which will take place from 23-28 April 2009, with six groups providing seven finalists to join the hosts in Belarus.

2008/09 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship
First qualifying round, 25-30 September 2008
Hosts in bold
Group 1 Group 2
Portugal Poland
Norway Austria
Romania Armenia
Faroe Islands Turkey
Group 3 Group 4
Sweden Netherlands
Wales Spain
Croatia Lithuania
Latvia Cyprus
Group 5 Group 6
Scotland Czech Republic
England Finland
Slovenia Azerbaijan
Slovakia Northern Ireland
Group 7 Group 8
Iceland Hungary
Republic of Ireland Russia
Israel Bosnia-Herzegovina
Greece Moldova
Group 9 Group 10
France Switzerland
Belgium Denmark
F.Y.R. Macedonia Serbia
Georgia Kazakshtan
Group 11 Byes
Ukraine Germany (to second qualifying round)
Italy (holders)
Belarus (to finals, hosts)