Race is on for 2011 finals in Italy

The initial steps to the 2010/11 UEFA European Women's U19 Championship were laid out after the first qualifying round draw, with former champions Denmark and Spain drawn together.

The 2011 finals will be in Italy
The 2011 finals will be in Italy ©Sportsfile

The 2010/11 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship first qualifying round draw has been made, paving the way to the finals in Italy.

Italy target
Champions in 2007/08, Italy will stage the event from 30 May to 11 June 2011. Seven teams will take on the hosts in the finals, with top seeds Germany given a bye to the second qualifying round from 31 March until 5 April 2011 that will decide the lineup. The other 44 entrants will be split into eleven groups of four in the first stage, played from 11 to 16 September 2010, with the top two in each section progressing along with the third-placed side with the best record against the leading pair in their pool.

Fair Play award
At the draw ceremony Jim Boyce, 1st Vice-Chairman of the UEFA Youth and Amateur Football Committee, presented the 2008/09 Fair Play trophy to Iceland captain Fanndis Fridriksdóttir.

2010/11 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship
irst qualifying round, 11-16 September 2010
Hosts in bold
Group 1 Group 2
England Azerbaijan
Finland Belgium
Moldova Estonia
Armenia Lithuania
Group 3 Group 4
Denmark Austria
Spain Hungary
Bosnia-Herzegovina Latvia
Group 5 Group 6
Switzerland Wales
Poland France
FYR Macedonia
Kazakhstan Slovenia
Group 7 Group 8
Norway Scotland
Netherlands Sweden
Belarus Serbia
Faroe Islands
Group 9
Group 10
Romania Iceland
Czech Republic
Turkey Bulgaria
Northern Ireland
Group 11 Byes
Republic of Ireland
Italy (to finals, hosts)
Russia Germany (to second qualifying round)