UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: Australia/New Zealand

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August.

FIFA via Getty Images

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be played in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August.

There will be 32 finalists including both hosts with 11 or 12 European nations involved. The United States will aim for a third straight title.

All the matches



Group A: New Zealand (hosts), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia (hosts), Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China PR

Group E: United States (holders), Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

UEFA nations in bold

Continental allocation

Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
AFC: 5 (China, Japan, Philippines*, South Korea, Vietnam*)
CAF: 4 (Morocco*, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia*)
CONCACAF: 4 (Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, United States)
CONMEBOL: 3 (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia)
UEFA: 11 (Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Republic of Ireland*, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland)
Inter-confederation play-offs: 3 (Haiti*, Panama*, Portugal*)



Adelaide (Hindmarsh Stadium)
Brisbane (Brisbane Stadium)
Melbourne (Melbourne Rectangular Stadium)
Perth (Perth Rectangular Stadium)
Sydney (Sydney Football Stadium/Stadium Australia)

New Zealand
Auckland (Eden Park)
Dunedin (Dunedin Stadium)
Hamilton (Waikato Stadium)
Wellington (Wellington Regional Stadium)

Inter-confederation play-offs

A ten-team tournament in New Zealand decided the last three finalists.

Group A

Final: Wednesday 22 February
Portugal 2-1 Cameroon (Hamilton)
Semi-final: Saturday 18 February

Cameroon 2-0 Thailand (Hamilton)

Group B

Final: Wednesday 22 February
Chile 1-2 Haiti (Auckland)
Saturday 18 February
Senegal 0-4 Haiti (Auckland)

Group C 

Final: Thursday 23 February
Paraguay 0-1 Panama (Hamilton)
Semi-finals: Sunday 19 February

Chinese Taipei 2-2, 2-4 pens Paraguay (Hamilton)
Papua New Guinea 0-2 Panama (Auckland)

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)

2019: United States 2-0 Netherlands; Lyon, France
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)

2021: Canada (gold), Sweden (silver), United States (bronze); Yokohama, Japan (postponed from 2020, final moved from Tokyo)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

European qualifying


The winners of the nine qualifying groups progressed directly to the finals with the runners-up taking part in the UEFA play-offs on 6 and 11 October 2022.

In the play-offs, the three best runners-up were seeded directly to round 2 of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up contested three single-leg play-offs in round 1.

The three winners from round 1 and the three teams seeded directly to round 2 then competed in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.

The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs; Switzerland and Republic of Ireland) qualified for the finals. The remaining play-off winner (Portugal) compete in the inter-confederation play-offs in New Zealand.


Qualifying group stage
13–21 September 2021
18–26 October 2021
22–30 November 2021
4–12 April 2022
1–6 September 2022

UEFA play-offs
6 & 11 October 2022