UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Hosts Germany get France in World Cup draw

Hosts Germany will begin their bid for a third straight FIFA Women's World Cup against Canada, Nigeria and France next summer after the draw for the final tournament was made in Frankfurt.

Germany will defend the title they retained in 2007
Germany will defend the title they retained in 2007 ©Getty Images

Hosts Germany have been drawn against France, Canada and Nigeria in the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup group stage.

Sixteen teams will compete from 26 June to 17 July 2011 with European champions Germany attempting to make it three global titles in a row after their 2003 and 2007 triumphs. After the draw in Frankfurt, they will begin their Group A campaign against Canada at Berlin's Olympiastadion and go on to face Nigeria and France, in the finals for the first time since 2003.

Norway, champions in 1995, are in Group D where they will take on Brazil, Australia and Equatorial Guinea, while England – runners-up to Germany at UEFA Women's EURO 2009 – take on Japan, New Zealand and Mexico in Group B. Sweden, beaten by Germany in the 2003 final, were drawn in Group C with the United States, Korea DPR and Colombia.

The top two teams in each group will progress to the quarter-finals, with the competition concluding in Frankfurt. The tournament will also act as the UEFA qualifier for the 2012 women's Olympic football competition in the United Kingdom, with the two highest European finishers (other than England) joining the hosts. If teams go out at the same stage and Europe's two entries are not clear, they will play-off.

Group stage draw (26 June-6 July)
Group A: Germany (hosts), Canada, Nigeria, France

Group B: Japan, New Zealand, Mexico, England

Group C: United States, Korea DPR, Colombia, Sweden

Group D: Brazil, Australia, Norway, Equitorial Guinea

9 July: Winner Group A v Runner-up Group B (1)
9 July: Winner Group B v Runner-up Group A (2)
10 July: Winner Group C v Runner-up Group D (3)
10 July: Winner Group D v Runner-up Group C (4)

13 July: Winner quarter-final 1 v Winner quarter-final 3 (1)
13 July: Winner quarter-final 2 v Winner quarter-final 4 (2)

Third-place play-off
16 July: Loser semi-final 1 v Loser semi-final 2

17 July: Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2

Past winners (hosts)
2007 Germany (China)
2003 Germany (United States)
1999 United States (United States)
1995 Norway (Sweden)
1991 United States (China)