UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

US beat Netherlands in Women's World Cup final

The United States beat the Netherlands to retain the trophy in Lyon while Sweden pipped England to bronze.

The US lift the trophy
The US lift the trophy ©Getty Images


Winners: United States
Runners-up: Netherlands
Third place: Sweden
Fourth place: England

  • The US are the first nation to win the World Cup twice in a row or reach three straight finals.
  • The Netherlands, Sweden and Great Britain (via England's performance) will represent Europe at the 2020 Olympics in Japan.
  • Seven European quarter-finalists is a record.


Best players
Golden Ball: Megan Rapinoe (United States)
Silver Ball: Lucy Bronze (England)
Bronze Ball: Rose Lavelle (United States)
Golden Glove: Sari van Veenendaal (Netherlands)
Young Player: Giulia Gwinn (Germany)

Top scorers
Golden Boot
: Megan Rapinoe (United States: 6 goals, 3 assists, 428 minutes played)
Silver Boot: Alex Morgan (United States: 6 goals, 3 assists, 490 minutes played)
Bronze Boot: Ellen White (England: 6 goals, 0 assists)


©Getty Images

Friday 7 June
Group A:France 4-0 South Korea (Paris)

Saturday 8 June
Group B: Germany 1-0 China (Rennes)
Group B: Spain 3-1 South Africa (Le Havre)
Group A: Norway 3-0 Nigeria (Reims)

Sunday 9 June
Group C: Australia 1-2 Italy (Valenciennes)
Group C: Brazil 3-0 Jamaica (Grenoble)
Group D: England 2-1 Scotland (Nice)

©Getty Images

Monday 10 June
Group D: Argentina 0-0 Japan (Paris)
Group E: Canada 1-0 Cameroon (Montpellier)

Tuesday 11 June
Group E: New Zealand 0-1 Netherlands (Le Havre)
Group F: Chile 0-2 Sweden (Rennes)
Group F: United States 13-0 Thailand (Reims)

Wednesday 12 June
Group A: Nigeria 2-0 South Korea (Grenoble)
Group B: Germany 1-0 Spain (Valenciennes)
Group A: France 2-1 Norway (Nice)

©Getty Images

Thursday 13 June
Group C: Australia 3-2 Brazil (Montpellier)
Group B: South Africa 0-1 China (Paris)

Friday 14 June
Group D: Japan 2-0 Scotland (Rennes)
Group C: Jamaica 0-5 Italy (Reims)
Group D: England 1-0 Argentina (Le Havre)

Saturday 15 June
Group E: Netherlands 3-1 Cameroon (Valenciennes)
Group E: Canada 2-0 New Zealand (Grenoble)

Sunday 16 June
Group F: Sweden 5-1 Thailand (Nice)
Group F: United States 3-0 Chile (Paris)

©Getty Images

Monday 17 June
Group B: China 0-0 Spain (Le Havre)
Group B: South Africa 0-4 Germany (Montpellier)
Group A: Nigeria 1-2 France (Rennes)
Group A: South Korea 0-1 Norway (Reims)

Tuesday 18 June
Group C: Jamaica 1-4 Australia (Grenoble)
Group C: Italy 0-1 Brazil (Valenciennes)

Wednesday 19 June
Group D: Japan 0-2 England (Nice)
Group D: Scotland 3-3 Argentina (Paris)

Thursday 20 June
Group E: Cameroon 2-1 New Zealand (Montpellier)
Group E: Netherlands 2-1 Canada (Reims)
Group F: Sweden 0-2 United States (Le Havre)
Group F: Thailand 0-2 Chile (Rennes)

©Getty Images

Round of 16:
Saturday 22 June 
38: Germany 3-0 Nigeria (Grenoble)
37: Norway 1-1aet, 4-1pens Australia (Nice)
Sunday 23 June
39: England 3-0 Cameroon (Valenciennes)
40: France 2-1aet Brazil (Le Havre)
Monday 24 June
41: Spain 1-2 United States (Reims)
42: Sweden 1-0 Canada (Paris)
Tuesday 25 June
43: Italy 2-0 China (Montpellier)
44: Netherlands 2-1 Japan (Rennes)

©Getty Images

Thursday 27 June
45: Norway 0-3 England (Le Havre)
Friday 28 June
46: France 1-2 United States (Paris)
Saturday 29 June
47: Italy 0-2 Netherlands (Valenciennes)
48: Germany 1-2 Sweden (Rennes)

Tuesday 2 July
49: England 1-2 United States (Lyon)
Wednesday 3 July
50: Netherlands 1-0aet Sweden (Lyon)

Third-place play-off:
Saturday 6 July 
England 1-2 Sweden (Nice)

Sunday 7 July 
United States 2-0 Netherlands (Lyon)

©Getty Images


The top three European finishers represent UEFA at the 2020 Olympic women's football tournament in Japan. Only the stage of the competition reached by the teams determined the entitlement of the teams to qualify, i.e. no other factors were taken into account, such as number of points or goal difference.

As Great Britain only enters one Olympic team, only England's results counted towards a possible British team in Japan rather than Scotland, as confirmed by FIFA following an agreement between the four British associations of England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.


World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2019: United States 2-0 Netherlands; Lyon, France
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States