UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Beck completes Germany omissions

Andreas Beck was the final player to miss out on Joachim Löw's 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup, with the coach saying the Germany defender "has always been professional".

Joachim Löw has finalised his 23-man squad for the World Cup finals
Joachim Löw has finalised his 23-man squad for the World Cup finals ©Getty Images

The German Football Association (DFB) has announced that TSG 1899 Hoffenheim's Andreas Beck is the last player to be omitted from their final 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup finals in South Africa.

Injuries had already ruled out captain Michael Ballack, midfielder Christian Träsch and defender Heiko Westermann so only one additional player had to be disappointed from Germany's provisional squad of 27 players. The 23-year-old wing-back Beck, who has seven caps, learned his fate from coach Joachim Löw shortly before the public announcement.

"Of course, this is disappointing for Andreas Beck," said Löw. "He has invested a lot during this training camp and has always been professional. During the team meeting he addressed the squad and the team gave him applause for his words."

Germany begin their quest for a fourth World crown against Australia on 13 June before Group D matches against Serbia and Ghana.

Germany squad
Jörg Butt (FC Bayern München), Manuel Neuer (FC Schalke 04), Tim Wiese (Werder Bremen).

Defenders: Dennis Aogo (Hamburger SV), Holger Badstuber (FC Bayern München), Jerome Boateng (Hamburger SV), Arne Friedrich (Hertha BSC Berlin), Marcell Jansen (Hamburger SV), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Per Mertesacker (Werder Bremen), Serdar Tasci (VfB Stuttgart).

Midfielders: Sami Khedira (VfB Stuttgart), Toni Kroos (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Marko Marin (Werder Bremen), Mesut Özil (Werder Bremen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (FC Bayern München), Piotr Trochowski (Hamburger SV).

Forwards: Cacau (VfB Stuttgart), Mario Gómez (FC Bayern München), Stefan Kießling (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Miroslav Klose (FC Bayern München), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern München), Lukas Podolski (1. FC Köln).