UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

København consider Beitar challenge

FC København meet Beitar Jerusalem FC and Zagłębie Lubin play FC Steaua Bucuresti after the draws for the first and second qualifying rounds took place in Nyon.

FC København have been paired with Beitar Jerusalem FC while Zagłębie Lubin take on FC Steaua Bucuresti after today's UEFA Champions League first and second qualifying round draws in Nyon, Switzerland.

Three new faces
In all 28 clubs are involved in the first qualifying round with another 14 sides, including PFC Levski Sofia and København - who both reached the competition's group stage in 2006/07 - joining in the next round. In the first stage Andorra champions FC Rànger's - whose country is participating for the first time - will travel to FC Sheriff, champions of Moldova, for the first leg of their tie, while Montenegro champions FK Zeta - another country making its competition debut - have been paired with FBK Kaunas of Lithuania. The representatives of third country to take its bow in the first qualifying round, S.S. Murata of San Marino, will play Finland's Tampere United.

Past winners
Former winners Steaua and FK Crvena Zvezda - European champions in 1986 and 1991 respectively - will also enter in the second qualifying round and will face either Zagłębie Lubin or FK Pobeda or FC Levadia Tallinn respectively. Levski will face Tampere or Murata, Rangers FC will play Zeta or Kaunas, while Giovanni Trapattoni's FC Salzburg will take on The New Saints FC or FK Ventspils. Another side who were involved in the 2006/07 group stage, FC Shakhtar Donetsk, play Derry City FC or FC Pyunik.

Group-stage goal
Both draws were conducted at UEFA headquarters by UEFA General Secretary David Taylor, and Michele Centenaro, UEFA's head of club competitions. The second qualifying round winners will advance to the third qualifying round, where they will be met by another 18 teams entering at that point. The 32 clubs involved will then compete in 16 fixtures for the right to join the 16 automatic qualifiers in the group stage.

2007/08 UEFA Champions League
First qualifying round draw
First leg:
17/18 July
Second leg: 24/25 July
1 FK Khazar Lenkoran (AZE)vNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)
3FC Sheriff (MDA) vFC Rànger's (AND)
4 FH Hafnarfjördur (ISL)vHB Tórshavn (FAR)
5 The New Saints FC (WAL)vFK Ventspils (LVA)
6FK Pobeda (MKD)vFC Levadia Tallinn (EST)
7 FC Olimpi Rustavi (GEO)vFC Astana (KAZ)
8 FK Zeta (MNE)vFBK Kaunas (LTU)
9 Tampere United (FIN)vS.S. Murata (SMR)
10 F91 Dudelange (LUX)vMŠK Žilina (SVK)
11Linfield FC (NIR)vIF Elfsborg (SWE)
12Derry City FC (IRL)vFC Pyunik (ARM)
13Marsaxlokk FC (MLT)vFK Sarajevo (BIH)
14NK Domžale (SVN)vKF Tirana (ALB)

2007/08 UEFA Champions League
Second qualifying round draw
First leg:
31 July/1 August
Second leg: 7/8 August
Winner of match 12vFC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
FK Crvena Zvezda (SRB)vWinner of match 6
Rangers FC (SCO)vWinner of match 8
Debreceni VSC (HUN)vWinner of match 11
Zagłębie Lubin (POL)vFC Steaua Bucuresti (ROU)
KRC Genk (BEL)vWinner of match 13
Winner of match 5vFC Salzburg (AUT)
Winner of match 7v

Rosenborg BK (NOR)

Related Items