UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

EURO final number crunching: facts and figures from all 16 deciders

We pick through the player and team statistics from the 16 previous EURO finals.

France won their first two EURO finals
France won their first two EURO finals ©UEFA.com

Italy are the reigning European champions after winning the 16th UEFA European Championship final on penalties, defeating an England side that became the 13th different nation to grace the showpiece.

From the teams that have shone brightest in finals to the players who stamped their mark on EURO history, EURO2020.com pores over the key statistics from all 15 previous deciders.

Final records

Classic final: 2012 – Spain hit four

Biggest win: Spain 4-0 Italy (2012)

Highest scoring: Czechoslovakia 2-2 West Germany (1976), Spain 4-0 Italy (2012)

Highest attendance: Spain 2-1 Soviet Union (1964) – 79,115, Madrid

Most wins: West Germany/Germany, Spain – 3

Most losses: West Germany/Germany, Soviet Union – 3

Most appearances: A total of 40 players have appeared in two finals. Cristiano Ronaldo holds the record of appearing in finals 12 years apart (2004 and 2016). Leonardo Bonucci and Giorgio Chiellini became the latest to join the two-final list after they featured against England having played for Italy against Spain in 2012.

Top scorers: Olivier Bierhoff (Germany), Horst Hrubesch (West Germany), Gerd Müller (West Germany), Fernando Torres (Spain) – 2

Scored two goals in a final: Gerd Müller (West Germany 1972), Horst Hrubesch (West Germany 1980), Olivier Bierhoff (Germany 1996)

Scored in two finals: Fernando Torres (Spain 2008, 2012)

Won as player and coach: Berti Vogts (West Germany 1972, Germany 1996) – Vogts was a non-playing squad member in that 1972 final.

Final appearances (incl. 2020)

Classic final: 2004 – Greece stun Portugal

Germany/West Germany 6 (W3 L3)

Spain 4 (W3 L1)
Italy 4 (W2 L2)
Soviet Union 4 (W1 L3)

France 3 (W2 L1)

Czechoslovakia/Czech Republic 2 (W1 L1)
Portugal 2 (W1 L1)
Yugoslavia 2 (L2)

Denmark 1 (W1)
Greece 1 (W1)
Netherlands 1 (W1)
England 1 (L1)
Belgium 1 (L1)

Following the tournament's expansion to a 16-team finals in 1996, just one defending champion – Spain in 2012 – has reached the final. Prior to that, the Soviet Union (1964) and West Germany (1976) made the final as holders but, unlike Spain, were beaten.

Reached consecutive finals

West Germany/Germany 3 (1972, 1976, 1980), 2 (1992, 1996)
Soviet Union 2 (1960, 1964)
Spain 2 (2008, 2012)

Classic final: 2000 – France comeback

Finalists on finals debut (not counting 1960)

1972: West Germany W3-0 vs Soviet Union
1968: Italy W2-0 in replay vs Yugoslavia
1964: Spain W2-1 vs Soviet Union

The Czech Republic contested the 1996 final on their first entry as a separate country, but their record includes Czechoslovakia's past performances.

Came from behind to win final

2020: Italy 1-1aet England (fell behind on 2 minutes, won 3-2 on penalties)
: France 2-1aet Italy (fell behind on 55 minutes, won on golden goal)
1996: Germany 2-1aet Czech Republic (fell behind on 59 minutes, won on golden goal)
1968: Italy 1-1aet, 2-0 Yugoslavia (fell behind on 39 minutes, won after a replay)
1960: Soviet Union 2-1aet Yugoslavia (fell behind on 43 minutes, won after extra time)

Extra time

Seven of the 16 finals have required extra time after 90 minutes.

Classic final: 1976 – Shoot-out first

Settled in standard extra time: 2 (Soviet Union 2-1 Yugoslavia 1960; Portugal 1-0 France 2016)
Settled by golden goal
: 2 (Germany 2-1 Czech Republic 1996; France 2-1 Italy 2000)
Settled on penalties:
2 (Czech Republic 2-2, 5-3p West Germany 1976; Italy 1-1, 3-2p England, 2020)
Settled by replay:
1 (Italy 1-1aet, 2-0 Yugoslavia 1968)

Hosts in final

2020: England L1-1, 2-3p vs Italy*
2016: France L0-1 vs Portugal
2004: Portugal L0-1 vs Greece
1984: France W2-0 vs Spain
1968: Italy W2-0 (replay) vs Yugoslavia
1964: Spain W2-1 vs Soviet Union

*Tournament played across Europe but final at Wembley.

Download the EURO app