UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Teenager Guidetti gets first Sweden call-up

Coach Erik Hamrén said John Guidetti "clearly deserves" a first Sweden call-up after naming the 19-year-old Feyenoord forward in his squad for next week's friendly in Croatia.

John Guidetti is in line to make his Sweden debut
John Guidetti is in line to make his Sweden debut ©Getty Images

On-song striker John Guidetti has received his first senior Sweden call-up for the 29 February friendly away to Croatia.

Playing on loan from Manchester City FC at Feyenoord, the 19-year-old has scored 18 Eredivisie goals in 16 appearances this season, with Sweden coach Erik Hamrén saying: "He clearly deserves his place after what he's achieved for his club."

Bologna FC's Mikael Antonsson returns to the squad for the first time since March 2011, with fellow central defender Olof Mellberg also included despite suffering concussion in Olympiacos FC's UEFA Europa League victory against FC Rubin Kazan last week. Johan Elmander and Mikael Lustig get the nod regardless of fitness concerns, with only two of the 22-man selection based in Sweden – IFK Göteborg's Tobias Hysén and IF Elfsborg's Anders Svensson, who is in line to win a 126th cap against Croatia.

Sweden squad
Goalkeepers: Andreas Isaksson (PSV Eindhoven), Johan Wiland (FC København).

Defenders: Mikael Antonsson (Bologna FC), Andreas Granqvist (Genoa CFC), Mikael Lustig (Celtic FC), Daniel Majstorovic (Celtic FC), Olof Mellberg (Olympiacos FC), Jonas Olsson (West Bromwich Albion FC), Martin Olsson (Blackburn Rovers FC), Behrang Safari (RSC Anderlecht).

Midfielders: Emir Bajrami (FC Twente), Rasmus Elm (AZ Alkmaar), Samuel Holmén (İstanbul BB SK), Kim Källström (Olympique Lyonnais), Sebastian Larsson (Sunderland AFC), Anders Svensson (IF Elfsborg), Pontus Wernbloom (PFC CSKA Moskva).

Forwards: Johan Elmander (Galatasaray AŞ), John Guidetti (Feyenoord), Tobias Hysén (IFK Göteborg), Zlatan Ibrahimović (AC Milan), Ola Toivonen (PSV Eindhoven).

*Behrang Safari has withdrawn. Oscar Wendt (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach) has been added.