UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Europa Conference League group stage draw: 27 August

Istanbul - - your local time

The draw is finished. Select Play to watch it back.
Results Live updates Updates Procedure

UEFA Europa Conference League group stage draw: 27 August

The group draw for the new club competition took place on Friday 27 August.

LASK were the first team drawn in the first UEFA Europa Conference League group stage draw
LASK were the first team drawn in the first UEFA Europa Conference League group stage draw UEFA via Getty Images

The UEFA Europa Conference League group stage draw in Istanbul took place at 13:30 CET on Friday 27 August.

Download the Europa app

Draw results

Group A: LASK, Maccabi Tel-Aviv, Alashkert, HJK Helsinki
Group B: Gent, Partizan, Flora, Anorthosis
Group C: Roma, Zorya Luhansk, CSKA-Sofia, Bodø/Glimt
Group D: AZ Alkmaar, CFR Cluj, Jablonec, Randers
Group E: Slavia Praha, Feyenoord, Union Berlin, Maccabi Haifa
Group F: Copenhagen, PAOK, Slovan Bratislava, Lincoln Red Imps
Group G: Tottenham, Rennes, Vitesse, Mura
Group H: Basel, Qarabağ, Kairat Almaty, Omonoia

Draw procedure

The 32 clubs were seeded into four seeding pots of eight in accordance with the club coefficient rankings established at the beginning of the season and with the principles set by the Club Competitions Committee. Clubs could not meet another team from their association; teams from Armenia and Azerbaijan could not be drawn together.

The teams were drawn into eight groups of four, each containing one team from each seeding pot.

Draw pots

Pot 1
Roma (ITA)
Tottenham (ENG)
Basel (SUI)
Slavia Praha (CZE)
Copenhagen (DEN)
Gent (BEL)
AZ Alkmaar (NED)

Pot 2
Feyenoord (NED)
Qarabağ (AZE)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR)
Rennes (FRA)
Partizan (SRB)
CFR Cluj (ROU)
Zorya Luhansk (UKR)

Pot 3
Union Berlin (GER)
CSKA-Sofia (BUL)
Vitesse (NED)
Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
Jablonec (CZE)
Alashkert (ARM)
Flora Tallinn (EST)
Kairat Almaty (KAZ)

Pot 4
Lincoln Red Imps (GIB)
Randers (DEN)
Omonoia (CYP)
Anorthosis (CYP)
HJK Helsinki (FIN)
Maccabi Haifa (ISR)
Bodø/Glimt (NOR)
Mura (SVN)

Which clubs are paired?

To ensure that paired clubs from the same country (including those playing in the UEFA Europa League on the same night) have different kick-off times where possible, the eight groups were distinguished by colour: Groups A to D were red and Groups E to H were blue. When a paired club was drawn, for example, in one of the red groups, the other paired club – once it had been drawn – would automatically be assigned to one of the blue groups. The pairings are as follows:

A Slavia Praha & Jablonec
B Copenhagen & Randers
C AZ Alkmaar & Vitesse
E Rennes & UEL
F Maccabi Tel-Aviv & Maccabi Haifa
G Partizan & UEL
H Omonoia & Anorthosis
K Feyenoord & Vitesse
L CSKA-Sofia & UEL

What happens next?

The group stage is played on Thursdays from 16 September to 9 December, on the same night as the UEFA Europa League games, kicking off at 18:45 CET and 21:00 CET.

The group winners will progress to the round of 16. The group runners-up will progress to the knockout round play-offs where they will be joined by the teams finishing third in the UEFA Europa League groups; the eight winners will complete the round of 16 line-up.

Group stage dates

Matchday 1: 16 September
Matchday 2: 30 September
Matchday 3: 21 October
Matchday 4: 4 November
Matchday 5: 25 November
Matchday 6: 9 December

UEFA Europa Conference League explained

Road to Tirana: knockout calendar

Knockout round play-off draw: 13 December
Knockout round play-offs: 17 & 24 February
Round of 16 draw: 25 February
Round of 16: 10 & 17 March
Quarter-finals & Semi-final draw: 18 March
Quarter-finals: 7 & 14 April
Semi-finals: 28 April & 5 May
Final: 25 May (National Arena, Tirana)