Fakten: Wolfsberg - Borussia Mönchengladbach

Im ersten Europapokal-Gruppenspiel seiner Vereinsgeschichte siegte Wolfsberg sensationell beim ehemaligen UEFA-Pokal-Sieger Borussia Mönchengladbach mit 4:0, jetzt wollen die Fohlen Revanche.

So jubelte Wolfsberg nach dem Sieg in Mönchengladbach
So jubelte Wolfsberg nach dem Sieg in Mönchengladbach ©Getty Images

Im ersten Europapokal-Gruppenspiel seiner Klubgeschichte sorgte der österreichische Verein aus Wolfsberg beim einstigen UEFA-Pokal-Sieger Borussia Mönchengladbach für eine riesige Überraschung. Im Rückspiel will Gladbach jetzt Revanche, zumal sich die Fohlen mit einem Sieg schon für die K.o.-Runde qualifizieren könnten.

• Seit dem 4:0-Auftaktsieg in Gladbach und einem überaus respektablen 1:1 gegen AS Roma lief es für Wolfsberg nicht mehr so rund, zuletzt setzte es zwei Niederlagen gegen İstanbul Başakşehir (0:1 auswärts, 0:3 zuhause), Mönchengladbach dagegen punktete zuletzt kräftig, vor allem dank seiner Nervenstärke, fielen doch drei der letzten Treffer der Fohlen in der Nachspielzeit: der Ausgleich in Istanbul und Rom (jeweils zum 1:1) sowie das Siegtor in der 95. Minute gegen Rom durch Marcus Thuram.

• Sollte Wolfsberg gegen den deutschen Bundesligisten verlieren, wären die Österreicher definitiv ausgeschieden, Mönchengladbach dagegen wäre bei einem Dreier in Graz und gleichzeitiger Niederlage von Rom in der Türkei definitiv in der Runde der letzten 32.

Frühere Begegnungen
• Am ersten Spieltag gab es eine der größten Überraschungen in der Geschichte der UEFA Europa League, als Europapokal-Debütant Wolfsberg bei Mönchengladbach mit 4:0 siegte, die Tore erzielten Shon Weissman, Mario Leitgeb (2) und Marcel Ritzmaier.

• Wolfsbergs Erfahrungen mit deutschen Bundesligateams beschränkten sich vor diesem Duell auf zwei Partien, 2015/16 gab es gegen Borussia Dortmund in der dritten Qualifikationsrunde der UEFA Europa League zwei Niederlagen (0:1 H, 0:5 A).

• Mönchengladbach hatte vor der Heimpleite gegen Wolfsberg in zehn Europapokalspielen gegen Teams aus Österreich sechs Siege und ein Unentschieden eingefahren, drei Partien gingen verloren. Alle Spiele fanden in den 1970er Jahren statt. In Österreich gab es für die Fohlen bisher zwei Siege und drei Niederlagen. Zuletzt siegte Gladbach 1978/79 in der ersten Runde des UEFA-Pokals bei Sturm Graz mit 2:1, ein paar Monate später holte Gladbach den Pokal.

Hintergrund
Wolfsberg
• 2012 schaffte Wolfsberg erstmals den Aufstieg in die österreichische Bundesliga, letzte Saison belegte man hinter Meister Salzburg und Vizemeister LASK den dritten Platz.

• Seine bisher einzige Europapokalsaison bestritt der Klub 2015/16, als man zunächst in der zweiten Qualifikationsrunde zwei Siege gegen das belarussische Team von Shakhtyor Soligorsk (1:0 A, 2:0 H) feierte, ehe gegen Dortmund das Aus kam.

• Wolfsbergs Europapokalbilanz: 3 Siege, 1 Remis und 4 Niederlagen. Zuhause hat Wolfsberg ein Spiel gewonnen, einmal unentschieden gespielt und zweimal verloren.

Mönchengladbach
• Mit dem fünften Platz buchte Mönchengladbach letzte Saison sein Ticket für die Gruppenphase der UEFA Europa League und kehrt damit nach zweijähriger Abwesenheit in den Europapokal zurück.

#UEL-Rückblick: Mönchengladbach - Fiorentina 4:3
#UEL-Rückblick: Mönchengladbach - Fiorentina 4:3

• Gladbach qualifizierte sich in seinen beiden Gruppenphasen der UEFA Europa League (2012/13 und 2014/15) für die Runde der letzten 32, schied dann dort aber jeweils aus. 2016/17 stieg man aus der UEFA Champions League in die K.o.-Runde der UEFA Europa League ab und qualifizierte sich in zwei packenden Partien gegen Fiorentina (0:1 H, 4:2 A) erstmals für das Achtelfinale. Dort scheiterte man dann allerdings in einem deutschen Duell aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel an Schalke (1:1 A, 2:2 H).

• Die Fohlen haben in der Gruppenphase der UEFA Europa League auswärts noch nie verloren (2S, 6U). Zuletzt gab es einen 4:2-Erfolg bei der Fiorentina, die nächsten drei Spiele in der Fremde endeten jeweils 1:1.

Die zehn schönsten Tore der Europa League 2018/19
Die zehn schönsten Tore der Europa League 2018/19

Verschiedenes
• Gladbachs Jonas Hofmann erzielte 2015/16 in Wolfsberg das Siegtor für den BVB.

• Wolfsbergs Linksverteidiger Lukas Schmitz ist Deutscher und hat schon für Schalke, Werder Bremen und Fortuna Düsseldorf gespielt. Acht seiner 104 Bundesligaspiele bestritt er gegen Mönchengladbach.

• Seine Wolfsberger Teamkollegen Stefan Perić und Michael Liendl haben ebenfalls in Deutschland gespielt, Dominik Baumgartner ist von Bochum ausgeliehen.

• Wolfsberg ist einer von sechs Debütanten in der Gruppenphase der UEFA Europa League, die anderen sind Espanyol, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Ferencváros, Olexandriya und Ligarivale LASK.

• Nach drei Bundesliga-Siegen in Folge kassierte Mönchengladbach am Samstag eine überraschende 0:2-Niederlage bei Aufsteiger Union Berlin, liegt aber noch immer mit einem Punkt Vorsprung vor RB Leipzig und Bayern München an der Tabellenspitze.

Die Trainer
• Am 20. November wechselte Wolfsbergs Cheftrainer Gerhard Struber zu Barnsley in die zweite englische Liga. Mohamed Sahli, ein 40 Jahre alter Österreicher tunesischer Abstammung und zuvor Strubers Assistent, ersetzte ihn als Interimstrainer. Sahli hatte vor seiner Zeit in Wolfsberg in der Jugend von Salzburg und Sturm Graz gearbeitet, ehe er als Co-Trainer für die österreichische U19 und U16 verantwortlich war. Im Sommer 2019 kam er nach Wolfsberg.

• Rose ersetzte vor der Saison 2019/20 Dieter Hecking als Coach in Mönchengladbach. Er kam als österreichischer Doublesieger aus Salzburg zu den Fohlen, 2016/17 hatte er mit dem Salzburger Nachwuchs die UEFA Youth League gewonnen. In seiner aktiven Karriere spielte Rose als Verteidiger für seinen Heimatklub VfB Leipzig, Hannover und Mainz, anschließend wechselte er für sechs Jahre in den Trainerstab der Salzburger, wo er 2017/18 in seiner ersten Saison als Cheftrainer für den Einzug ins Halbfinale der UEFA Europa League verantwortlich war. Letzte Saison führte er Salzburg ins Achtelfinale.

Oben

Wolfsberg v Borussia Mönchengladbach facts

Wolfsberg marked their group stage debut with a remarkable win at Borussia Mönchengladbach and are now aiming for a repeat.

Wolfsberg celebrate after beating Mönchengladbach on Matchday 1
Wolfsberg celebrate after beating Mönchengladbach on Matchday 1 ©Getty Images

UEFA Europa League group stage debutants Wolfsberg have the chance to show that their shock opening-night 4-0 win at Borussia Mönchengladbach was no flash in the pan as they renew acquaintance with the German side in Graz on an evening when the visitors could qualify for the round of 32 with a game to spare.

• While Wolfsberg have gone off the boil since that scorching start, adding just one more point to their total and dropping to the foot of the group after back-to-back defeats by İstanbul Başakşehir (0-1 a, 0-3 h), Mönchengladbach have got progressively better, though added-time goals have been responsible for earning four of their five points – equalisers away to İstanbul Başakşehir and Roma (both 1-1) and a 95th-minute Marcus Thuram winner at home to the Serie A side in their most recent outing.

• A third successive defeat will eliminate Wolfsberg from contention for a round of 32 berth, whereas a Mönchengladbach victory coupled with a Roma defeat in Turkey would send the German Bundesliga leaders through.

Highlights: Borussia Mönchengladbach 0-4 Wolfsberg
Highlights: Borussia Mönchengladbach 0-4 Wolfsberg

Previous meetings
• The UEFA Europa League witnessed one of its most unexpected results on Matchday 1 as Wolfsberg inflicted a record home European defeat on Mönchengladbach thanks to unanswered strikes from Shon Weissman, Mario Leitgeb (two) and Marcel Ritzmaier.

• The Austrian side's last European encounter prior to that win against Gladbach had also been away to German opposition, though the outcome was rather different as Borussia Dortmund beat them 5-0 to complete a 6-0 aggregate win in the 2015/16 UEFA Europa League third qualifying round.

• Mönchengladbach's record against Austrian opposition is now W6 D1 L4, all ten matches prior to this season's meeting having taken place during the 1970s. Their overall away record versus Austrian clubs is W2 L3, their last visit having also been to Graz, where they beat local side Sturm 2-1 to complete a 7-2 aggregate victory in the first round of the 1978/79 UEFA Cup, which they would go on to win.

Highlights: Wolfsberg 0-3 İstanbul Başakşehir
Highlights: Wolfsberg 0-3 İstanbul Başakşehir

Form guide
Wolfsberg
• Promoted to the Austrian top flight for the first time in 2012, Wolfsberg claimed their highest ever Bundesliga finish in 2018/19, taking third place behind champions Salzburg and runners-up LASK.

• The club's only previous European campaign, in 2015/16, ended with that comprehensive defeat by Dortmund, though they had been victorious in both legs of their inaugural tie, beating Shakhtyor Soligorsk of Belarus 1-0 away and 2-0 at home.

• Wolfsberg's overall European record is now W3 D1 L4. At home it is W1 D1 L2, with no wins in the last three matches.

Highlights: Roma 1-1 Mönchengladbach
Highlights: Roma 1-1 Mönchengladbach

Mönchengladbach
• A fifth-placed finish in the 2018/19 German Bundesliga booked a starting berth for Mönchengladbach in the UEFA Europa League group stage, returning the club to European competition after a two-season absence.

• Gladbach qualified from both of their previous UEFA Europa League groups, in 2012/13 and 2014/15, before going out each time in the round of 32. Having crossed over from the UEFA Champions League midway through the 2016/17 season, they made it third time lucky in that round with a spectacular Lars Stindl-inspired comeback triumph against Fiorentina (0-1 h, 4-2 a) before going out on away goals in an all-German round of 16 tie with Schalke (1-1 a, 2-2 h).

• The Foals have never lost an away fixture in the UEFA Europa League group stage (W2 D6). Their last European win on the road was that 4-2 success at Fiorentina, the three away fixtures since having all ended 1-1.

Highlights: Wolfsberg 1-1 Roma
Highlights: Wolfsberg 1-1 Roma

Links and trivia
• Gladbach's Jonas Hofmann scored the winning goal for Dortmund away to Wolfsberg in that 2015/16 tie.

• Wolfsberg left-back Lukas Schmitz is German and has played for Schalke, Werder Bremen and Fortuna Düsseldorf. Eight of his 104 Bundesliga games were against Mönchengladbach.

• Schmitz's Wolfsberg team-mates Stefan Perić and Michael Liendl have also played in Germany, while Dominik Baumgartner is on loan from Bochum.

• Wolfsberg are one of six clubs appearing in the UEFA Europa League group stage for the first time this season, the others being Espanyol, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Ferencváros, Olexandriya and fellow Austrian side LASK.

• Wolfsberg are one of two clubs whose starting XI has been unchanged for all four group stage fixtures thus far, the other being Gent in Group I. However, that can not continue as central defender Nemanja Rnić was red-carded on Matchday 4 and is therefore suspended for this encounter.

• Mönchengladbach's three-game winning run in the Bundesliga ended on Saturday with a surprise 0-2 defeat at newly-promoted Union Berlin but they remain on top of the table, one point ahead of RB Leipzig and Bayern München.

Highlights: İstanbul Başakşehir 1-1 Mönchengladbach
Highlights: İstanbul Başakşehir 1-1 Mönchengladbach

The coaches
• On 20 November, Wolfsberg head coach Gerhard Struber took over at Barnsley, in the English Championship. He has been replaced on an interim basis by Mohamed Sahli, a 40-year-old Austrian of Tunisian descent who was previously Struber’s assistant. Sahli’s career has been spent predominantly as a youth coach, overseeing the development of up-and-coming talents at Salzburg and Sturm Graz before working as a joint head coach with the Austrian Under-19 and U16 selections. He arrived at Wolfsberg in the summer of 2019.

• Rose replaced Dieter Hecking as Mönchengladbach's new head coach for the 2019/20 season. He arrived as an Austrian double winner and two-time champion with Salzburg, having also led the club to victory in the 2016/17 UEFA Youth League. A defender with home-town club VfB Leipzig, Hannover and Mainz, he spent six years on Salzburg's coaching staff and masterminded a run to the 2017/18 UEFA Europa League semi-finals during his debut campaign as head coach. Last season he led Salzburg into the round of 16.

Top