UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Barça make it three at home

Barça stepped in to host the 2019/20 finals and clinched their third title.

Barça celebrate victory
Barça celebrate victory UEFA via Getty Images

It took 19 seasons before the dominant nation in this competition, Spain, produced both finalists, as hosts Barça pipped Murcia FS 2-1 at Palau Blaugrana.

Futsal Champions League final highlights: Barça 2-1 Murcia

The 2019/20 edition was originally scheduled to conclude on neutral territory in Minsk but instead was postponed from April to October due to the COVID-19 pandemic and moved to Barcelona, to be played behind closed doors. The finals proved to be a two-nation affair as Barça qualified along with Murcia, who had topped former champions Kairat Almaty and Benfica in their elite round group, and Russian debutants KPRF and Tyumen, the team that eliminated holders Sporting CP.

Murcia's only previous final had been their penalties defeat by Sinara Ekaterinburg at Moscow 2008 but they ended a 12-year wait to reach another decider by beating Tyumen 2-1, youth product Alberto García with the winner.

Barça, meanwhile, went two up early on against KPRF only to be pegged back to 2-2. Esquerdinha made it 3-2 in extra time, becoming the first player to score ten career finals goals, but 11 seconds from time Nando equalised from the penalty spot. That meant a shoot-out, and former Barça man Lin missed KPRF's second kick, allowing the home side to win 5-4 with captain Sergio Lozano converting the decisive effort.

Futsal Champions League highlights: KPRF win bronze on penalties

KPRF had better luck in the shoot-out for bronze against Tyumen, having pulled the game back to 2-2 just eight seconds from the close thanks to Yanar Asadov, on his 25th birthday. Albert Tsaider saved Tyumen's first two kicks and KPRF's other goalkeeper Ilya Bespaly was sent on for the fourth and produced another stop, enabling Lin to redeem himself with the winning penalty for KPRF.

The final would prove just as close. It was another fast start by Barça, Ferrao's shot deflected in by team-mate Dyego, and Aicardo adding a second inside the first nine minutes. But Murcia were determined to end a run of losing all their 11 past finals against Barça and early in the second half Leo Santana scored at his former club home.

Barça, though, held on to win 2-1 and lifting the trophy was Sergio Lozano, equalling two records himself – Gabriel's total of 14 finals appearances and Ortiz's mark of three titles with a single club, in his case Inter FS. Five-time champions Inter were the only side to make it to three successes in this competition before Barça managed it in 2020.