UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Thirteen lucky for top scorer Bali

Futsal Topsport Antwerpen's Karim Bali finished his first European campaign as top scorer on 13 goals while a quartet shared the leading final four tally of two.

Karim Bali put the ball in the net 13 times during this season's competition
Karim Bali put the ball in the net 13 times during this season's competition ©Sportsfile

Karim Bali of Futsal Topsport Antwerpen has finished his first UEFA Futsal Cup campaign as the competition's top scorer despite the Belgian team's elimination in the Elite round, while Il'Dar Makayev, Vladislav Shayakhmetov and Dmitri Prudnikov from champions MFK Viz-Sinara Ekaterinburg all shared the leading final four tally of two in as many games with ElPozo Murcia FS's Ciço.

Bali success
Bali, 22, totalled 13 goals in six appearances, putting him two ahead of SL Benfica's Portuguese international Ricardinho. Bali made his European debut in September's Main round against KMF Municipium Casino Pljevlja and his second-half goal secured a 2-2 draw. A day later, he scored two hat-tricks in a 9-1 defeat of Athina '90 Athens and added another treble as Futsal Club Gödöllö were beaten 6-0. The Elite round proved Antewerpen's limit, but Bali still managed a goal in the 5-1 reverse against FK Era-Pack Chrudim and he was on target twice to hold Slov-Matic Fofo Bratislava 5-5.

Final four feats
Makayev, unusually for futsal, claimed headers in both the semi-final defeat of Kairat Almaty and the decider against Murcia, something matched by the feet of Shayakhmetov and Prudnikov, though the latter was denied in the penalty shoot-out win. Ciço, who had also scored in the last four versus MFK Dinamo Moskva, registered in the second half of the final but ended up on the losing side.

2007/08 UEFA Futsal Cup top scorers
Karim Bali
Futsal Topsport Antwerpen13
RicardinhoSL Benfica
Roman Mareš FK Era-Pack Chrudim9
ArnaldoSL Benfica8
Shay Zabloski
Hapoel Ironi Rishon Lezion 8
Zé MariaSL Benfica

*played in final four