UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Joel tops scorers' table

Joel Queirós struck in SL Benfica's 3-2 defeat of Interviú Madrid to finish as top scorer for the 2009/10 UEFA Futsal Cup and shared the honour for the Lisbon finals with team-mate Arnaldo.

Joel Queirós (not pictured) equalises for Benfica in the final
Joel Queirós (not pictured) equalises for Benfica in the final ©Sportsfile

SL Benfica's Joel Queirós ended the 2009/10 UEFA Futsal Cup as top scorer thanks to his goal in the 3-2 final victory against Interviú Madrid.

Joel began Sunday's decider in Lisbon level with Luparense C/5 striker Vampeta and Aleksejs Baranovs of FK Nikars Riga on 11 goals and his first-half equaliser took him clear. Added to his two goals in the last-four defeat of Luparense, Joel also finished joint top scorer of the finals in Lisbon with team-mate Arnaldo, also on target on Sunday. Portuguese international Joel shared a similar honour at the UEFA European Futsal Championship in January.

The record for a season remains 19 by André Vanderlei for Action 21 Charleroi in 2003/04. He is the only player to twice finish top scorer and his career tally of 49 is a competition record, four clear of another Charleroi player, Lúcio, and Schumacher, part of the Interviú side on Sunday.

2009/10 UEFA Futsal Cup top scorers
PlayerClub Goals
Joel QueirósSL Benfica (POR)12
Aleksejs BaranovsFK Nikars Riga (LVA)
VampetaLuparense C/5 (ITA)
Maksym Pavlenko
Time Lviv (UKR)
Biro Jade
Araz Naxçivan (AZE)8
SL Benfica (POR)8
Vitaliy BorisovAraz Naxçivan (AZE)8
Armen GyulambaryanErebuni Yerevan (ARM)8
Miljan VicoKMF Leotar Trebinje (BIH)8

2009/10 UEFA Futsal Cup finals top scorers
ArnaldoSL Benfica (POR)
Joel QueirósSL Benfica (POR)
Clayton BaptistellaLuparense C/5 (ITA)2
BetãoInterviú Madrid (ESP)2
SL Benfica (POR)
RicardinhoSL Benfica (POR)2

Previous season top scorers
2008/09Samir MakhoukhiFC Blok Beverwijk (NED)9
2007/08Karim BaliFutsal Topsport Antwerpen (BEL)13
2006/07Serhiy Sytin
FC Shakhtar Dontesk (UKR)
2005/06Predrag Rajić
KMF Marbo Beograd (SRB)
2004/05Sergei Ivanov
MFK Dinamo Moskva (RUS)
2003/04André VanderleiAction 21 Charleroi (BEL)19
2002/03André VanderleiAction 21 Charleroi (BEL)
2001/02JoanPlayas de Castellón FS (ESP)

Selected for you