UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Benfica lead futsal hopefuls

Holders SL Benfica lead 48 entrants for this season's UEFA Futsal Cup, and the preliminary and main round draws will be made at 14.00CET on Tuesday with live video on UEFA.com.

The UEFA Futsal Cup is the biggest prize in European club futsal
The UEFA Futsal Cup is the biggest prize in European club futsal ©UEFA.com

UEFA Futsal Cup holders SL Benfica will be joined by former winners MFK Viz-Sinara Ekaterinburg and Action 21 Charleroi as 48 sides enter the list for the 2010/11 edition.

The top four clubs in Europe – Benfica, Ekaterinburg, ElPozo Murcia FS and three-time semi-finalists AFC Kairat Almaty – all have byes to the elite round but the remaining contenders will take part in the preliminary and main round draws at 14.00CET on Tuesday. UEFA.com will have live video from Nyon as the teams ranked fifth to 21st, including Charleroi and the competition's only ever-presents Iberia Star Tbilisi (formerly Iberia 2003), are given byes to the main round.

The other 27 entrants begin in the preliminary round from 14 to 22 August, played as one-venue mini-tournaments with six groups of four sides and one of three. Clubs have been split into four seeding tiers, with seven in the first three and six in the fourth; a separate draw pot will apply for the six designated mini-tournament hosts who are kept apart from each other as well as from the teams in their own ranking group. The seven group winners go through.

In the main round draw there will be six groups of four, with sides again split by seeding tier and a separate draw pot for the hosts. One group will contain two preliminary round winners and the other five will have one each. After the mini-tournaments played from 25 September to 3 October, the top two in each group progress to join the top seeds in the elite round draw on 11 October. Four elite round groups will be staged from 12 to 20 November with the winners advancing to the finals in April 2011 and the hosts picked from among that quartet.

2010/11  UEFA Futsal Cup ranking list
Elite round: 12-20 November
(4 teams + 12 to qualify, draw 11 October)
1RUSMFK Viz-Sinara Ekaterinburgbye
2POR (holders)SL Benficabye
3ESPElPozo Murcia FSbye
4KAZAFC Kairat Almatybye
Main round: 25 September – 3 October 
(17 teams + 7 to qualify)

Host club in bold, Pot 7 will consist of seven preliminary round winners
1AZEAraz Naxçivan10
1CZEFK Era-Pack Chrudim6
1BELAction 21 Charleroi10
1CROMNK Nacional Zagreb10
1PORSporting Clube de Portugal10
1UKRFC Time Lviv6
2SVKSlov-Matic Fofo Bratislava6
2GEOIberia Star Tbilisi9
2ITAAS Montesilvano C/56
2GREAthina '909
2SRBKMF Ekonomac Kragujevac6
2LVAFK Nikars Riga9
3ISRASA Tel-Aviv8
3ROUCity US Târgu Mureş 8
3SVNFC Kobarid8
3POLAkademia FC Pniewy8
3BLRFC Mapid Minsk8
Preliminary round: 14 – 22 August (27 teams)
1LTUFK Nautara Kaunas1
FS Ilves Tampere
1MNEKMF Danilovgrad5
1NEDClub Futsal Eindhoven5
1MDASC Tornado Chişinău5
1BULFC Levski Sofia West5
2SWEVimmerby IF4
2CYPAGBU Ararat Nicosia1
2AUTStella Rossa Vienna1
2ENGHelvecia Futsal London4
2ARMFC Kaghsi Yerevan4
2DENBGA Futsal
2MKDKMF Zelezarec Skopje1
3FRAKremlin Bicêtre United3
3BIHKMF Orlić Sarajevo3
3ALBKF Tirana3
3GERSD Croatia Berlin3
3IRLSporting Fingal SC3
3SUIMNK Croatia 97 Appenzell3
3TURİstanbul Üniversitesi SK3
4NORKFUM Futsal Oslo2
4ESTFC Anzhi Tallinn2
4MLTZC Excess Futsal1
4ANDFC Encamp2
4ISLKeflavík 1
4SCOPerth Saltires2

Selected for you