UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Super Cup format and venues

The UEFA Super Cup is a one-off fixture between the winners of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

In Prague, Bayern contested the first UEFA Super Cup game this century to be played outside Monaco
In Prague, Bayern contested the first UEFA Super Cup game this century to be played outside Monaco ©Getty Images

The UEFA Super Cup acts as the curtain-raiser to the new UEFA club competition season, pitting the winners of the previous campaign's UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League against each other.

Super Cup regulations


The competition was first staged in 1973/74 and initially featured the European champions and their European Cup Winners' Cup counterparts. Since the last UEFA Cup Winners' Cup in 1998/99, the match has been contested by the holders of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League (the UEFA Cup until 2009/10). It was not held in 1974, 1981 or 1985.

Who plays who?

Until 1999: European Cup/UEFA Champions League holders vs Cup Winners' Cup holders
Since 2000: UEFA Champions League holders vs UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League holders


Originally, the UEFA Super Cup was generally played over two legs, with the two finalists facing each other home and away (albeit 1984, 1986 and 1991 were all single-leg ties). In 1998, the UEFA Super Cup switched to a single game played at Monaco's Stade Louis II and, following 15 years in Monte Carlo, it is now hosted by a different venue each campaign.

Six great Super Cup goals

1973–97: Finalists generally played home and away
1998–2012: Stade Louis II, Monaco
2013: Stadion Eden, Prague
2014: Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff
2015: Boris Paichadze National Stadium Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi
2016: Lerkendal Stadion, Trondheim
2017: National Arena Filip II Macedonian, Skopje
2018: Lilleküla Stadium, Tallinn
2019: Beşiktaş Park, Istanbul
2020: Puskás Aréna, Budapest
2021: National Football Stadium at Windsor Park, Belfast
2022: Helsinki Olympic Stadium, Helsinki
2023: Stadio Georgios Karaiskakis, Athens


Bayern and other Super Cup extra-time winners

The match format is the same as for any final of a UEFA club competition. If scores are level at the end of normal time, two 15-minute periods of extra time ensue. If the result remains deadlocked at the close of extra time, a penalty shoot-out will determine the winners.

Only three UEFA Super Cups have been decided by spot kicks, with Chelsea involved on every occasion – losing against Bayern in 2013 and Liverpool six years later but beating Villarreal in 2021. In 2000 the fixture was settled by a golden goal, UEFA Cup winners Galatasaray beating Real Madrid.

Roll of honour