1990: Dutch double lifts Milan

Ruud Gullit was among the scorers in Milan's 1990 success
©Getty Images

UC Sampdoria 1-1 AC Milan
AC Milan 2-0 UC Sampdoria
(Milan win 3-1 on aggregate)

Having won the title for the first time in 1989, AC Milan became the first side since to claim the UEFA Super Cup in successive years, overcoming fellow Italians UC Sampdoria 3-1 on aggregate in the two-legged final. It was also the first time two sides from the same country had contested the UEFA Super Cup.

Milan earned their place in the final by winning their second European Champion Clubs' Cup in a row, 1-0 win against SL Benfica in the final in Vienna. Sampdoria were UEFA Cup Winners' Cup champions, Gianluca Vialli's two extra-time goals having seen off RSC Anderlecht's challenge 2-0 in Gothenburg.

The two sides were evenly matched in the first leg in Genoa which finished 1-1. Oleksiy Mykhaylychenko opened the scoring after 31 minutes, but Alberigo Evani, who had scored the decisive goal in Milan's 2-1 aggregate success in the 1989 UEFA Super Cup, drew the Rossoneri level eight minutes later.

As in 1989, a 1-1 draw from the first leg laid the foundations for Milan's success. Marco van Basten had found the target in the 1989 edition of the competition, and two other Dutch Milan stars were to take centre stage in the second leg a year on at the Stadio Renato Dall'Ara in Bologna.

Ruud Gullit, then at the height of his powers, scored the first a minute before half-time and any hope of a Sampdoria revival was effectively extinguished after 76 minutes when Frank Rijkaard added the second to make it 2-0 on the night.