UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2010 Super Cup: Atlético win on Super Cup debut

The first UEFA Europa League winners Atlético Madrid also lifted the UEFA Super Cup against fellow debutants Internazionale.

Atlético Madrid celebrate UEFA Super Cup triumph in 2010
Atlético Madrid celebrate UEFA Super Cup triumph in 2010 Getty Images

Inter 0-2 Atlético Madrid
(Reyes 62, Agüero 83)

Atlético Madrid defended the honour of the new UEFA Europa League with aplomb as the first winners of the rebranded competition beat Inter 2-0 to lift the UEFA Super Cup at the Stade Louis II in Monaco.

It was the first time either team had taken part in the fixture and it was Atlético who triumphed against the UEFA Champions League winners, José Antonio Reyes and Sergio Agüero making the difference with second-half strikes. Not even a late penalty from UEFA Club Footballer of the Year Diego Milito could spoil a memorable night for the victors as David de Gea pulled off a fine save.

Winning coach Quique Sánchez Flores said: "We were fast and strong and each goal was clear cut, so we played well. Inter work very well defensively and I imagined Maicon might cause problems going forward, but Simão and Álvaro Domínguez negated him. We created dangerous opportunities. They played well, but quite frankly we deserved the victory."