UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

English sides dominate nominees

English teams dominated the UEFA Champions League last season, something reflected in the nominees for next week's UEFA Club Footballer of the Year awards.

John Terry and Frank Lampard - two of Chelsea's five nominees
John Terry and Frank Lampard - two of Chelsea's five nominees ©Getty Images

Čech award
Twelve months ago 2006/07 UEFA Champions League winners AC Milan almost cleaned up at the awards, held annually on the eve of the UEFA Super Cup. Kaká collected the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year prize as well as being named as the best forward, and was joined on the podium in Monaco by club-mates Paolo Maldini and Clarence Seedorf. Only the presence of Petr Čech prevented a Rossoneri clean sweep, and the Chelsea FC goalkeeper is again among the nominees this time around.

United nominees
Čech is one of five members of the Chelsea squad included in the shortlist of five players for each position by the UEFA Champions League Technical Observers. The side that edged the Blues out in the Moscow final, Manchester United FC, are best represented with six players, while Liverpool FC have four nominees and Arsenal FC two. Only FC Barcelona duo Lionel Messi and Carles Puyol and FC Schalke 04 goalkeeper Manuel Neuer threaten the English monopoly.

The coaches of the 16 teams that reached the knockout phase of the 2007/08 UEFA Champions League were invited to cast their votes, and the winners will be unveiled at the draw for the UEFA Champions League group stage on 28 August. The following day United and UEFA Cup winners FC Zenit St. Petersburg contest the 2008 UEFA Super Cup at Monaco's Stade Louis II.

UEFA Club Goalkeeper of the Year
Manuel AlmuniaArsenal FC
Petr Čech Chelsea FC
Manuel NeuerFC Schalke 04
Pepe ReinaLiverpool FC
Edwin van der SarManchester United FC

UEFA Club Defender of the Year
Jamie CarragherLiverpool FC
Rio FerdinandManchester United FC
Carles PuyolFC Barcelona
John TerryChelsea FC
Nemanja VidićManchester United FC

UEFA Club Midfielder of the Year
Michael EssienChelsea FC
Cesc FábregasArsenal FC
Steven GerrardLiverpool FC
Frank LampardChelsea FC
Paul ScholesManchester United FC

UEFA Club Forward of the Year
Didier DrogbaChelsea FC
Lionel MessiFC Barcelona
Cristiano RonaldoManchester United FC
Wayne RooneyManchester United FC
Fernando TorresLiverpool FC