UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Competition facts

UEFA Super Cup: All-time records

• There have been 42 previous UEFA Super Cup finals, including 15 at Monaco's Stade Louis II after the showpiece moved to a one-off match in the principality in 1998. Since 2013, the fixture has been held in a different European city each year: Prague in 2013, Cardiff in 2014, Tbilisi in 2015, Trondheim in 2016 and Skopje in 2017.

• Of the 42 previous editions, the team that won the European Cup have triumphed on 23 occasions, most recently Real Madrid in 2017. Since the UEFA Cup winners began taking part in 2000, following the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup's demise, seven of the 18 finals have been won by the side that lifted the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League the preceding May.

• Including 2018, Spain holds the record for the number of times their teams have participated in the competition with 27 entries (Barcelona 9, Real Madrid 7, Sevilla 5, Atlético Madrid 3, Valencia 2, Real Zaragoza 1). England have had 16 (Liverpool 5, Manchester United 4, Chelsea 3, Nottingham Forest 2, Arsenal 1, Aston Villa 1), three more than Italy (AC Milan 7, Juventus 2, Internazionale 1, Parma 1, Lazio 1, Sampdoria 1).

• Spanish clubs have recorded the most victories with 14 (Barcelona 5, Real Madrid 4, Valencia 2, Atlético 2, Sevilla 1), five more than Italy and seven more than England.

• Barcelona's 2015 triumph took them level with Milan on five wins. Real Madrid moved on to four in 2017, one more triumph than Liverpool.

• Six finals have pitted teams from the same country. Milan beat Sampdoria 3-1 on aggregate in 1990 and lost 2-1 to Parma three years later before the all-Spanish affair between Barcelona and Sevilla in 2006 and Real Madrid's 2014 defeat of Sevilla. In 2015, Barcelona beat Sevilla in Tbilisi; Real Madrid beat Sevilla in Trondheim 12 months later.

• Seven finals have been decided in extra time, the beneficiaries being Aston Villa (1982, 3-1 versus Barcelona), Parma (1993, 2-1 versus Milan), Galatasaray (2000, 2-1 golden goal victory versus Real Madrid), Liverpool (2005, 3-1 versus CSKA Moskva),  Barcelona (twice: 2009, 1-0 versus Shakhtar Donetsk; 2015, 5-4 v Sevilla) and Real Madrid (2016, 3-2 v Sevilla).

• The 2013 edition was the first to involve a penalty shoot-out, Bayern beating Chelsea 5-4 on penalties after a 2-2 draw in Prague.

• Barcelona became the first side to score five times in a one-off final with 2015's 5-4 defeat of Sevilla, eclipsing Atlético's 4-1 success over Chelsea in 2012; Liverpool (2001, 2005), Real Madrid (2002, 2016), Sevilla (2006) and Milan (2007) all managed three goals.

• Atlético's 2012 win (4-1) equalled Sevilla's 3-0 defeat of Barcelona in 2006 as the biggest margin of victory in a single-match final.

• There have been four 1-0 results: Chelsea (1998), Lazio (1999) – in the first two one-off finals – Milan (2003) and Barcelona (2009) were the victors.

• There has never been a UEFA Super Cup that finished scoreless after 120 minutes.

• The fastest goal came in the 2015 decider when Éver Banega gave Sevilla a third-minute lead against Barcelona.

• Radamel Falcao (2012, Atlético v Chelsea) and Terry McDermott (1977, Liverpool v Hamburg, second leg) are the only players to have scored three times in one UEFA Super Cup game. McDermott's hat-trick was the quicker, registered in a 17-minute spell either side of the interval.

• The only own goal seen in a UEFA Super Cup final since it permanently became a one-off game in 1998 came from Feyenoord's Patrick Paauwe, 15 minutes into his team's 3-1 reverse to Real Madrid in 2002.

• Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes became the first player sent off in the history of the competition, against Zenit in 2008. Porto's Rolando and Fredy Guarín were both dismissed in 2011.

Competition history
The UEFA Super Cup was not staged in three seasons since its 1973 inception. In 1974, following political problems, Bayern of the Federal Republic of Germany did not play Magdeburg of the German Democratic Republic. Then, in 1981, Liverpool and Dinamo Tbilisi failed to find a date to contest the competition. Following the Heysel tragedy on 29 May 1985, Juventus and Everton did not play the 1985 UEFA Super Cup.