UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lineup set for Youth League knockout phase

The draw for the knockout phase, scheduled for 14.00CET on Monday in Nyon, will feature 16 teams from ten countries, with Spain the most heavily represented.

The trophy and the draw pots
The trophy and the draw pots ©Getty Images

The lineup for the knockout phase of the inaugural UEFA Youth League, the draw for which takes place on 16 December in Nyon from 14.00CET and will be streamed live on UEFA.com, has been finalised following the completion of the group stage.

While Chelsea FC and FC Barcelona qualified with two games to spare, nine berths in the last 16 were still available going into matchday six. The tightest finish was in Group F, where two points separated the four teams and SSC Napoli leapfrogged Borussia Dortmund into second place on the final day.

Chelsea were the only side to achieve the maximum 18 points. Meanwhile, Spain will be the best-represented national association in the draw following the progress of all four Spanish entrants. 

Group winners: Real Sociedad de Fútbol (ESP, A), Real Madrid CF (ESP, B), SL Benfica (POR, C), PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS, D), Chelsea FC (ENG, E), Arsenal FC (ENG, F), Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP, G), FC Barcelona (ESP, H).

Runners-up: FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR, A), FC København (DEN, B), Paris Saint-Germain (FRA, C), Manchester City FC (ENG, D), FC Schalke 04 (GER, E), SSC Napoli (ITA, F), FK Austria Wien (AUT, G), AC Milan (H).

In the round of 16 draw, section winners will host pool runners-up in single-leg ties. Teams from the same association or who were in the same group cannot be paired together. Matches have been provisionally scheduled for 18/19 and 25/26 February 2014, with the final dates, venues and kick-off times to be confirmed in early January.

The path for the rest of the competition will also be mapped out with open draws for the quarter-final, semi-final and final stages. All these ties will be contested as one-off encounters, with the last-eight fixtures set for 11/12 and 18/19 March and both the semi-final games (11 April) and the final (14 April) to be played as part of a four-team tournament at the Colovray Stadium opposite UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.

Selected for you