UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Atlético and Benfica advance as Barcelona lose

Club Atlético de Madrid and SL Benfica are the first teams into the last 16 while AFC Ajax inflicted a maiden UEFA Youth League defeat on holders FC Barcelona.

Benfica celebrate after scoring against Monaco
Benfica celebrate after scoring against Monaco ©SL Benfica

Club Atlético de Madrid and SL Benfica became the first teams to book places in the round of 16 as German sides Bayer 04 Leverkusen and Borussia Dortmund got off the mark in style and FC Barcelona suffered their first ever UEFA Youth League defeat.

Group A
Juventus 0-3 Olympiacos
• Juventus were down to nine men by the 54th minute. Atila Varga (38) was sent off for violent conduct before Almpertos Roussos (50) turned Manolis Saliakas' cross into his own net under no pressure at the far post. Mattia Vitale then received his second booking. Kostas Garefalakis (76) and Qazim Laci, from 30 metres, added the second and third goals.

Malmö FF 1-2 Club Atlético de Madrid
• Atlético are through to the last 16 after this, their fourth successive Group A win. Substitute Gama García sealed the points for the Rojiblancos, shortly after Malmö had hit the woodwork. Wingers Tete Morente and Amath Diedhiou were a constant threat for the Spanish side.

Group B
FC Basel 1893 6-0 PFC Ludogorets Razgrad
• After a goalless first half, Basel, who won 5-0 in Bulgaria a fortnight ago, struck three times in seven minutes. Cani was instrumental, providing three assists, including the corner from which Neftali Manzambi scored his second in added time. Ludogorets are still awaiting their first point.

Highlights: Real Madrid 4-1 Liverpool

Real Madrid CF 4-1 Liverpool FC
• Scottish youngster Jack Harper was on target as Madrid struck three in the last 17 minutes to edge out Liverpool. A Cristian Cedrés free-kick (7) set the tone for a quality encounter and while Cameron Brannagan restored parity before the break, the hosts pulled away in the closing stages, Harper and José Carlos Lazo scoring either side of a Borja Mayoral penalty.

Group C
FC Zenit 0-3 Bayer 04 Leverkusen
• Leverkusen had lost their first three fixtures – including 4-1 at home to Zenit a fortnight ago – but got off the mark in style here thanks to goals from captain Marlon Frey, Pascal Richter and Marc Brasnic.

SL Benfica 3-0 AS Monaco FC
• Unbeaten Benfica booked a place in the last 16 with two games to spare, but the scoreline flattered them in what was a hard-fought win. It was all going well early on, with the hosts 2-0 up inside 22 minutes after goals from Gilson Costa and Romário Baldé. They were under the cosh thereafter, though, until Diogo Gonçalves struck a third eight minutes from time.

Group D
Borussia Dortmund 5-2 Galatasaray AŞ
• The hosts got off the mark in Group D in some style. They were 3-0 up by the hour after efforts from Mohamed El-Bouazzati, Junior Flores and Mitsuru Maruoka, and Ogün Gümüstas added two more in the closing stages after Galtasaray pulled it back to 3-1 and 4-2. The pick of the goals came from the visitors' Gökhan Göksu, though, lobbing in from 30 metres moments after coming on.

Highlights of Barcelona 2-2 Ajax on matchday three

Arsenal FC 1-2 RSC Anderlecht
• Anderlecht completed the double over Arsenal thanks to Jorn Vancamp's 74th-minute goal. Samuel Bastien put the visitors ahead with a well-placed effort, though Daniel Crowley (22) equalised with his fifth of the campaign. Anderlecht were dominant for long periods of the second half and were rewarded when Ryan Huddart pushed a cross into the path of Vancamp, who headed in the winner.

Group F
AFC Ajax 1-0 FC Barcelona
• Václav Černý struck the only goal on the hour from an indirect free-kick after Andre Onana picked up a back pass as holders Barcelona suffered their first UEFA Youth League defeat in 14 outings. Lionel Enguene had earlier hit the post for the visitors but, at a packed De Toekomst, Ajax were always on top. Victory moves them three points clear of their opponents at the section summit.

Reporters: Artem Nefedyev, Mark Pitman, Ben Gladwell, Steffen Potter, Carlos Machado, Alberto Infantes Sánchez, Timen Llurba