UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2022/23 Under-17 EURO qualifying round draw

Nyon - - your local time

The draw is finished. Select Play to watch it back.

2022/23 Under-17 EURO qualifying round draw

The draw set the groups to begin the road to Hungary.

Getty Images for UEFA

The 2022/23 UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifying round draw has set 13 groups to be contested next summer or autumn, beginning the road to Hungary.

  • The top two teams in each group will join top seeds Netherlands and Spain in the spring 2023 elite round along with the four third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.
  • Hosts Hungary qualify directly for the 16-team final tournament in May 2023.

Group 1: Portugal, Slovenia, Faroe Islands, Kazakhstan

Group 2: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Liechtenstein

Group 3: England, Israel, Georgia, Lithuania

Group 4: Scotland, Czech Republic, Northern Ireland, Malta

Group5: Austria, Poland, Montenegro, Andorra

Group 6: Belgium, Denmark, Romania, Estonia

Group 7: Sweden, Croatia, Wales, Albania

Group 8: Italy, Greece, Finland, Kosovo

Group 9: France, Iceland, North Macedonia, Luxembourg

Group 10: Republic of Ireland, Norway, Belarus, Armenia

Group 11*: Serbia, Cyprus, Gibraltar

*Russia excluded

Group 12: Germany, Slovakia, Latvia, Moldova

Group 13: Türkiye, Switzerland, Bulgaria, San Marino

How the draw worked

Draw procedure and seeding pots

The draw

• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list. The 13 countries with the highest rankings were placed in Pot A, the next 13 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group was allocated one team from each pot, with hosts to be appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.

• The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round along with the four third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.

Pot A: England, Italy, Portugal, Germany, France, Belgium, Republic of Ireland, Sweden, Austria, Serbia*, Türkiye, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Scotland

Pot B: Ukraine, Czech Republic, Israel, Switzerland, Denmark, Norway, Russia*, Greece, Slovenia, Poland, Croatia, Slovakia, Iceland

Pot C: Finland, Cyprus, Belarus, Romania, Azerbaijan*, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Wales, Georgia, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Latvia, Faroe Islands

Pot D: Lithuania, Albania, Estonia, Armenia*, Kazakhstan, Kosovo*, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Luxembourg, San Marino, Malta, Gibraltar

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, these teams could not be drawn together: Serbia and Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo, Russia and Kosovo, Azerbaijan and Armenia