UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023/24 Under-17 EURO qualifying round draw

Nyon - - your local time

The draw is finished. Select Play to watch it back.

2023/24 Under-17 EURO qualifying round draw

The draw has set autumn's 13 groups to begin the road to Cyprus.

Getty Images for UEFA

The 2023/24 UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifying round draw has set 13 groups of four to be contested as one-venue mini-tournaments between 27 September and 21 November 2023.

The draw was made by Diogo Monteiro, captain of the Portugal squad in the 2022 finals, who received the Respect Fair Play prize on behalf of his team.

In all, 52 nations will be involved in the qualifying round: the 54 entrants minus hosts Cyprus (who qualify direct for the final tournament) and top seeds Netherlands (who enter in the elite round).

The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round along with the five third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.

Qualifying round draw

Group 1 (11–17 October): Denmark, Austria, Georgia (hosts), Lithuania

Group 2 (27 September–3 October): Sweden, Poland, Latvia, Moldova (hosts)

Group 3 (15–21 October): Germany, Ukraine, Finland, Liechtenstein (hosts)

Group 4 (21–27 October): Serbia (hosts), Slovenia, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan

Group 5 (15–21 November): Portugal (hosts), Czechia, Montenegro, Albania

Group 6 (15–21 November): France, Norway, Romania (hosts), Estonia

Group 7 (21–27 October): Türkiye (hosts), Scotland, Belarus, Kazakhstan

Group 8 (25–31 October): Spain, Slovakia, North Macedonia, Malta (hosts)

Group 9 (3–9 November): England, Croatia (hosts), Kosovo, Faroe Islands

Group 10 (11–17 October): Republic of Ireland (hosts), Switzerland, Iceland, Armenia

Group 11 (25–31 October): Italy (hosts), Greece, Northern Ireland, San Marino

Group 12 (11–17 October): Belgium, Israel (hosts), Wales, Gibraltar

Group 13 (25–31 October): Hungary (hosts), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Andorra

Diogo Monteiro, captain of the Portugal squad in the 2022 finals, receives the Respect Fair Play prize on behalf of his team.
Diogo Monteiro, captain of the Portugal squad in the 2022 finals, receives the Respect Fair Play prize on behalf of his team.UEFA via Getty Images

Draw procedure and seeding pots

• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list. The 13 countries with the highest rankings were placed in Pot A, the next 13 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group was allocated one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.

Pot A: Spain*, Italy, France, England, Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Republic of Ireland, Hungary, Serbia*, Sweden, Türkiye, Denmark

Pot B: Scotland, Israel, Norway, Switzerland, Czechia, Slovenia, Greece, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Ukraine*, Poland, Austria, Slovakia, Croatia

Pot C: Finland, Iceland, Belarus*, Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Romania, Georgia, Northern Ireland, Kosovo*, Wales, Montenegro, Luxembourg, Latvia

Pot D: Estonia, Faroe Islands, Albania, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Andorra, Lithuania, Moldova, Malta, Gibraltar*, Liechtenstein, San Marino

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, these pairs of teams could not be drawn together: Spain and Gibraltar, Belarus and Ukraine, Kosovo and Serbia, Kosovo and Bosnia & Herzegovina.

All Russian teams are currently suspended from UEFA competitions until further notice in accordance with the decision taken by the UEFA Executive Committee on 28 February 2022 and as confirmed by the Court of Arbitration for Sport on 15 July 2022. Russia are therefore not included in the 2023/24 UEFA European Under-17 Championship.