UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Europe's U17 World Cup contenders confirmed

After the final round of group games at the 2013 UEFA European Under-17 Championship, UEFA's six representatives for the FIFA U-17 World Cup later this year have been confirmed.

Sweden and Slovakia have secured FIFA U-17 World Cup places
Sweden and Slovakia have secured FIFA U-17 World Cup places ©Sportsfile

Europe's six representatives at the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates from 17 October to 8 November have been confirmed, after the group stage of the UEFA European Under-17 Championship concluded in Slovakia.

UEFA European Under-17 Championship hosts Slovakia, Sweden, Russia and Italy all booked their places after the second group games on Wednesday. Austria and Croatia completed the lineup today by also clinching top-three finishes in their pools.

Switzerland took the title in Nigeria in 2009 on their debut but did not make the last World Cup in Mexico, and miss out again after a 2-1 defeat to Austria, who took the final place in Group A. Russia have qualified in their own right for the first time and will aim to emulate the 1987 success of the Soviet Union. Sweden and Slovakia make their U-17 World Cup debuts.

The European six complete the 24-team lineup for the draw in Abu Dhabi on 26 August. Holders Mexico, the first ever hosts to take the trophy two years ago, are among the qualifiers while making their debut along with Sweden, Russia, and Slovakia are Iraq, Morocco and Venezuela.

AFC: United Arab Emirates (hosts), Iran, Iraq, Japan, Uzbekistan
CAF: Ivory Coast, Morocco, Nigeria, Tunisia
CONCACAF: Canada, Honduras, Mexico (holders), Panama
CONMEBOL: Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Venezuela
OFC: New Zealand
UEFA: Italy, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Austria, Croatia

Past winners
1985: Nigeria
1987: Soviet Union
1989: Saudi Arabia
1991: Ghana
1993: Nigeria
1995: Ghana
1997: Brazil
1999: Brazil
2001: France
2003: Brazil
2005: Mexico
2007: Nigeria
2009: Switzerland
2011: Mexico

(UEFA representatives in bold)