UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Italy duo in top scorer foursome

Italy's Mario Pugliese and Elio Capradossi were among a quartet of players to end the 2013 UEFA European Under-17 Championship on a tournament-high two goals.

Italy's Elio Capradossi (left) and Mario Pugliese
Italy's Elio Capradossi (left) and Mario Pugliese ©Sportsfile

Italy's Mario Pugliese and Elio Capradossi were joined on a pair of goals by Slovakia defender Martin Slaninka and Switzerland winger Robin Kamber at the top of the 2013 UEFA European Under-17 Championship scorers' charts.

Classy AS Roma centre-back Capradossi, who converted from the spot in the Azzurrini's shoot-out defeat by Russia in the final, and pugnacious Atalanta BC midfielder Pugliese were a constant threat and showed a knack of scoring important goals.

Pugliese's first came three minutes into added time to turn around Italy's matchday two Group B encounter with Ukraine, while Capradossi restored parity against Russia to seal a last-four berth. Both players then found the net in a 2-0 semi-final defeat of Slovakia.

The hosts' run to the last four owed much to the momentum provided by Slaninka's late winner against Austria in their Group A opener. The defender was at the heart of more high drama versus Switzerland, lunging in to score and complete a 2-2 comeback draw.

Kamber had struck to give Switzerland a healthy lead against the hosts in Zilina, but it was his superb free-kick in a 2-1 loss to Austria that will live longest in the memory.

Germany may have been pipped to the finals by Ukraine but Timo Werner's total of 13 in qualifying, including a joint U17 record five against Andorra, was the highest tally of the season.

Indeed, his efforts leave the VfB Stuttgart prospect second on the all-time list behind Paco Alcácer, who managed eight in qualifying then a further six in the finals as Spain finished runners-up in 2009/10. He has subsequently won two U19 titles and scored three Liga goals this year on loan at Getafe CF from Valencia CF.

UEFA.com has all the facts and figures from this season's tournament.

Final tournament top scorers
Elio Capradossi (Italy) 2
Robin Kamber (Switzerland) 2
Mario Pugliese (Italy) 2
Martin Slaninka (Slovakia) 2

Season top scorers
Timo Werner (Germany) 13
Donis Avdijaj (Germany) 6
Luka Belić (Serbia) 5
Valmir Berisha (Sweden) 5
Andriy Boryachuk (Ukraine) 5
Kiril Despodov (Bulgaria) 5
Maurice Multhaup (Germany) 5
Nemanja Radonjić (Serbia) 5
Shon Zalman Weissman (Israel) 5
Luka Zarandia (Georgia) 5
Donát Zsótér (Hungary) 5

Previous finals top scorers
2012: Max Meyer (Germany) 3
2011: Kyle Ebecilio (Netherlands), Hallam Hope (England), Samed Yesil (Germany), Tonny Trindade de Vilhena (Netherlands) 3
2010: Paco Alcácer (Spain) 6
2009: Luc Castaignos (Netherlands), Lennart Thy (Germany) 3
2008: Yannis Tafer (France) 4
2007: Toni Kroos (Germany), Victor Moses (England) 3
2006: Manuel Fischer (Germany), Bojan Krkić (Spain), Tomáš Necid (Czech Republic) 5
2005: Tevfik Köse (Turkey) 6
2004: Hatem Ben Arfa (France), Bruno Gama (Portugal), Shane Paul (England), Marc Pedraza (Spain) 3
2003: David Rodríguez (Spain) 6
2002: Jonathan Soriano (Spain) 7

Previous season top scorers
2011/12: Gergely Bobá (Hungary) 8
2010/11: Samed Yesil (Germany) 11
2009/10: Paco Alcácer (Spain) 14
2008/09: Muhammet Demir (Turkey) 7
2007/08: Danijel Aleksić (Serbia), Geoffrey Castillion (Netherlands) 9
2006/07: Toni Kroos (Germany), Vitali Rushnitski (Belarus), Kolbein Sigthórsson (Iceland) 7
2005/06: Manuel Fischer (Germany) 13
2004/05: Nikola Kalinić (Croatia) 11
2003/04: Fausto Lourenço (Portugal) 8
2002/03: David Rodríguez (Spain) 9
2001/02: Collins John (Netherlands), Simon Vukčević (Yugoslavia) 8

All-time finals top scorers
Bojan Krkić (Spain 2006, 2007) 7
David Rodríguez (Spain 2002, 2003) 7
Jonathan Soriano (Spain 2002) 7

All-time overall top scorers
Paco Alcácer (Spain) 14
Manuel Fischer (Germany) 13
Timo Werner (Germany) 13
Vaclav Kadlec (Czech Republic) 11
Nikola Kalinić (Croatia) 11
Toni Kroos (Germany) 11
Krisztián Németh (Hungary) 11
Samed Yesil (Germany) 11