UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Schuurman and Solanke share scorers' prize

Both on the mark in the final, the Netherlands' Jari Schuurman and England's Dominic Solanke finished joint-leading tournament scorers with four goals apiece.

England's Dominic Solanke enjoys his goal in the semi-finals against Portugal
England's Dominic Solanke enjoys his goal in the semi-finals against Portugal ©Domenic Aquilina

Both scorers in the final, England's Dominic Solanke and Jari Schuurman of the Netherlands finished as joint-leading marksmen at the UEFA European Under-17 Championship with four goals.

Solanke and Schuurman started Wednesday's showpiece level with four other players on three goals, but each found the net to move out on their own. The Jong Oranje midfielder's previous three efforts had come in the 5-2 win against hosts Malta on matchday two.

England forward Solanke, meanwhile, struck twice against Turkey in the group stage and once against Portugal in the semi-finals. The Chelsea FC tyro's opener in the final took his tally for the whole campaign, qualifying included, to nine, level at the top of the charts with team-mate Adam Armstrong, who did not play against the Netherlands due to an ankle injury.

Check out UEFA.com's full U17s statistics section.

Final tournament top scorers
Jari Schuurman
(Netherlands) 4
Dominic Solanke
(England) 4
Fatih Aktay
(Turkey) 3
Steven Bergwijn (Netherlands) 3
Patrick Roberts (England) 3
Calvin Verdonk (Netherlands) 3

Season top scorers
Adam Armstrong (England) 9
Dominic Solanke (England) 9
Enes Ünal (Turkey) 8
Steven Bergwijn (Netherlands) 7
Patrick Roberts (England) 6
Raz Yizhak (Israel) 6

Previous finals top scorers
2013: Elio Capradossi (Italy), Robin Kamber (Switzerland), Mario Pugliese (Italy), Martin Slaninka (Slovakia) 2
2012: Max Meyer (Germany) 3
2011: Kyle Ebecilio (Netherlands), Hallam Hope (England), Samed Yesil (Germany), Tonny Trindade de Vilhena (Netherlands) 3
2010: Paco Alcácer (Spain) 6
2009: Luc Castaignos (Netherlands), Lennart Thy (Germany) 3
2008: Yannis Tafer (France) 4
2007: Toni Kroos (Germany), Victor Moses (England) 3
2006: Manuel Fischer (Germany), Bojan Krkić (Spain), Tomáš Necid (Czech Republic) 5
2005: Tevfik Köse (Turkey) 6
2004: Hatem Ben Arfa (France), Bruno Gama (Portugal), Shane Paul (England), Marc Pedraza (Spain) 3
2003: David Rodríguez (Spain) 6
2002: Jonathan Soriano (Spain) 7

Previous season top scorers
2012/13: Timo Werner (Germany) 13
2011/12: Gergely Bobá (Hungary) 8
2010/11: Samed Yesil (Germany) 11
2009/10: Paco Alcácer (Spain) 14
2008/09: Muhammet Demir (Turkey) 7
2007/08: Danijel Aleksić (Serbia), Geoffrey Castillion (Netherlands) 9
2006/07: Toni Kroos (Germany), Vitali Rushnitski (Belarus), Kolbein Sigthórsson (Iceland) 7
2005/06: Manuel Fischer (Germany) 13
2004/05: Nikola Kalinić (Croatia) 11
2003/04: Fausto Lourenço (Portugal) 8
2002/03: David Rodríguez (Spain) 9
2001/02: Collins John (Netherlands), Simon Vukčević (Yugoslavia) 8