UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Holders Russia face former champions

Holders Russia have been matched with past winners Spain and Switzerland in the elite round, while France must meet the Netherlands and England face Italy.

The draw results are displayed in Nyon
The draw results are displayed in Nyon ©Getty Images

UEFA European Under-17 Championship holders Russia have been matched with former winners Spain and Switzerland in the elite round, the draw for which was made in Nyon.

Proceedings were conducted by Jim Boyce, UEFA Youth and Amateur Committee chairman, and 2012/13 Austria captain Michael Lercher, who received the Fair Play trophy.

One of 27 teams emerging from the qualifying round, to join top seeds Germany, Russia were in the third pot and hosts two-time champions Spain, 2002 winners Switzerland and Wales in the race to reach the last final tournament before the showpiece doubles in size to 16 nations.

There are also two past winners in Group 3 in the shape of the Netherlands and France while 2013 runners-up Italy are in with 2010 champions England in Group 4, staged by the Czech Republic. Only the group winners will progress to join hosts Malta in the finals from 9 to 21 May 2014.

Elite round draw
Group 1 (26-31 March):
Spain, Switzerland, Russia* (holders), Wales

Group 2 (25-30 March): Poland, Turkey, Greece*, Norway

Group 3 (20-25 March): Netherlands*, France, Austria, Sweden

Group 4 (26-31 March): England, Italy, Czech Republic*, Albania

Group 5 (26-31 March): Germany, Serbia*, Georgia, Republic of Ireland

Group 6 (24-29 March): Romania, Scotland*, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group 7 (26-31 March): Portugal*, Iceland, Latvia, Ukraine