UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2020/21 U17 qualifying round draw made

The groups begin the road to Cyprus.

Marton Dardai makes the draw
Marton Dardai makes the draw UEFA via Sportsfile

The 2020/21 UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifying round draw has started the road to the finals in Cyprus. The draw was made by Márton Dárdai, captain of Germany at the 2019 finals, who received the Respect Fair Play trophy on behalf of his team from UEFA general secretary Theodore Theodoridis.

Group 1: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia (hosts), Bulgaria, Liechtenstein

Group 2: Italy, Slovenia, Romania (hosts), Albania

Group 3: Republic of Ireland (hosts), Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Estonia

Group 4: Belgium, Ukraine, Georgia (hosts), Lithuania

Group 5: Turkey (hosts), Russia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar

Group 6: Portugal (hosts), Czech Republic, Montenegro, Kosovo

Group 7: Sweden, Israel, Finland (hosts), Kazakhstan

Group 8: England, Greece (hosts), Azerbaijan, San Marino

Group 9: Austria (hosts), Norway, Iceland, Moldova

Group 10: Hungary, Switzerland, Belarus, Luxembourg (hosts)

Group 11: Germany, Poland, North Macedonia (hosts), Malta

Group 12: Serbia (hosts), Denmark, Latvia, Armenia

Group 13: France, Scotland (hosts), Wales, Andorra

The 13 group winners will join top seeds the Netherlands and Spain, and hosts Cyprus, in the 16-team finals from 6 to 22 May.

How the draw worked

Draw procedure and seeding pots

Pot A: England, Italy, Portugal, Germany, France, Belgium, Republic of Ireland, Sweden, Hungary, Austria, Serbia*, Turkey, Bosnia and Herzegovina*

Pot B: Scotland, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Israel, Switzerland, Denmark, Norway, Russia, Greece, Slovenia, Poland, Croatia, Slovakia

Pot C: Iceland, Finland, Belarus, Romania, Azerbaijan*, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Wales, Georgia, Estonia, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Latvia, Faroe Islands

Pot D: Lithuania, Albania, Estonia, Armenia*, Kazakhstan, Kosovo*, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Luxembourg, San Marino, Malta, Gibraltar

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, these teams could not be drawn together: Serbia and Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo, Azerbaijan and Armenia

Who was involved?
• Hosts Cyprus qualify directly for the final tournament in May 2021.

• Top seeds Netherlands and Spain receive a bye.

• The remaining 52 entrants start in the qualifying round where they are split into 13 groups of four.

The draw
• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list, with the 13 countries with the highest ranking in Pot A, the next 13 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group has one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.