UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2021/22 U17 qualifying round draw

The groups in autumn begin the road to Israel.


The 2021/22 UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifying round draw has been made setting 13 mini-tournaments to be played next autumn.

2021/22 qualifying round groups

Group 1 (6–12 October): Turkey, Denmark, Montenegro, Malta (hosts)

Group 2 (23–29 September): Sweden, Czech Republic, Latvia (hosts), Lithuania

Group 3 (6–12 October): Belgium (hosts), Norway, Azerbaijan, Luxembourg

Group 4 (23–28 October): Hungary (hosts), Iceland, Georgia, Estonia

Group 5 (dates tbc): Republic of Ireland (hosts), Poland, North Macedonia, Andorra

Group 6 (20–26 October): Germany, Russia, Romania (hosts), San Marino

Group 7 (7–13 October): Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, Finland (hosts), Gibraltar

Group 8 (26 October–1 November): France, Greece (hosts), Cyprus, Moldova

Group 9 (6–12 October): Austria (hosts), Slovenia, Faroe Islands, Kosovo

Group 10 (21–27 October): Serbia (hosts), Croatia, Bulgaria, Liechtenstein

Group 11 (10–16 November): Portugal (hosts), Ukraine, Wales, Kazakhstan

Group 12 (27 October–2 November): Italy, Scotland, Northern Ireland (hosts), Albania

Group 13 (16–22 October): England, Slovakia, Belarus (hosts), Armenia

  • The top two teams in each group will join top seeds Netherlands and Spain in the spring 2022 elite round along with the four third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.
  • Hosts Israel qualify directly for the final tournament from 16 May – 1 June 2022.

How the draw worked

Draw procedure and seeding pots

Pot A: England, Italy, Portugal, Germany, France, Belgium, Republic of Ireland, Sweden, Hungary, Austria, Serbia*, Turkey, Bosnia and Herzegovina*

Pot B: Scotland, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Denmark, Norway, Russia, Greece, Slovenia, Poland, Croatia, Slovakia, Iceland

Pot C: Finland, Cyprus, Belarus, Romania, Azerbaijan*, North Macedonia, Wales, Georgia, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Latvia, Faroe Islands

Pot D: Lithuania, Albania, Estonia, Armenia*, Kazakhstan, Kosovo*, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Luxembourg, San Marino, Malta, Gibraltar

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, these teams could not be drawn together: Serbia and Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo, Azerbaijan and Armenia

The draw

• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list, with the 13 countries with the highest rankings in Pot A, the next 13 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group has one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.

• The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round along with the four third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.