UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Italy complete elite round lineup

Italy are confirmed as the 28th and final team in the elite round draw having been ranked as the third-placed side with the best record across the 13 qualifying sections.

The UEFA European Under-19 Championship trophy
The UEFA European Under-19 Championship trophy ©Sportsfile

Italy have completed the lineup for the UEFA European Under-19 Championship elite round having been confirmed as the best third-placed side in the qualifying round.

The 2003 champions came third in Group 10, level with Denmark and Israel on six points but behind both on head-to-head record. Italy nevertheless finished as the team with the best record against the top two across the 13 qualifying round sections and so gain entry to the elite round draw in Nyon on 28 November.

Holders Serbia were one of four sides to win all three qualifying fixtures – Georgia, Portugal and the Czech Republic were the others – although the team they beat in last season's final, France, bowed out having ended up behind Belgium and Iceland in Group 4.

The 27 qualifiers will be accompanied into the elite round by six-time champions Spain, given a bye into this second phase of the competition. The countries will therefore be drawn into seven groups of four, with the elite round sections being played in the spring and the winner of each joining hosts Hungary in next summer's final tournament.

2013/14 UEFA European Under-19 Championship qualifying round

Group 1: Czech Republic*, Croatia, Cyprus, Gibraltar
Group 2: Romania, Lithuania, Armenia, Poland*
Group 3: Republic of Ireland, Sweden*, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan
Group 4: Belgium*, Iceland, France, Northern Ireland
Group 5: Germany, Scotland, Latvia, Belarus*
Group 6: Greece, Bulgaria*, Slovakia, Albania
Group 7: Serbia*, Austria, Kazakhstan, Finland
Group 8: Portugal*, Norway, Luxembourg, San Marino
Group 9: England, Switzerland, Slovenia*, Andorra
Group 10: Denmark, Israel*, Italy, Liechtenstein
Group 11: Georgia*, Wales, Netherlands, Moldova
Group 12: Turkey, Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republc of Macedonia*, Faroe Islands
Group 13: Russia*, Ukraine, Estonia, Malta