Holders through with the Netherlands

UEFA European Under-19 Championship holders Germany made light work of qualifying round Group 6 on home soil to move through with the Netherlands.

Sebastian Rudy, Mario Erb, Sascha Bigalke and captain Kevin Wolze celebrate Germany's win against the Netherlands
©Getty Images

Old rivals
The leading pair, who both won their opening two games against Lithuania and Luxembourg, each fielded a number of players who played in the 2007 U17 finals in Belgium. Germany beat the Netherlands to finish fifth in that tournament and confirmed that form with a 2-1 victory in the group decider, though both teams will compete in the Elite round in spring.

Opening wins
On the opening day the Netherlands were 2-0 up within 18 minutes against Lithuania through Georginio Wijnaldum and Luis Pedro, and although Edvinas Petkus pulled one back, Marko Vejinovic and substitute Kevin Strootman scored in the second half to secure a 4-1 win. Germany defeated Luxembourg 3-0, Sascha Bigalke converting a tenth-minute penalty and scoring again midway through the first half before substitute Alexander Esswein's clincher.

Duo through
Germany followed up with a 5-0 victory against Lithuania, a formality after goals in the first 17 minutes from Richard Sukuta-Pasu – the only one of last season's winning squad in the Czech Republic involved in this mini-tournament – Lewis Holtby and Bigalke. Sukuta-Pasu struck again late in the first half and Jan Tilman Kirchhoff claimed the fifth. The Netherlands trailed in each half against Luxembourg but goals by Joël Pedro and Pit Hilbert were cancelled out by Georginio Wijnaldum and Luis Pedro, and an own goal from keeper Yann Heil gave Wim van Zwam's team a 3-2 win despite Jeffrey Bruma's late red card.

Germany top
That left only first place at stake when Germany met the Netherlands and the home side led on 22 minutes through André Schürrle. Leroy Fed equalised just before the hour but Bigalke clinched victory with an 84th-minute penalty to the delight of the 3,380 crowd in Trier. Lithuania took third place, beating Luxembourg 3-2 thanks to goals from Aleksandr Babachin, Petkus and substitute Jaunius Juozaitis.