UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Qualifying for 2014/15 Under-19 finals starts

A little over two months after Germany lifted the trophy in Hungary, 52 teams begin their campaigns hoping to join hosts Greece in next summer's finals.

Germany lifted the trophy in Hungary last summer
Germany lifted the trophy in Hungary last summer ©Sportsfile

Fifty-two teams hoping to earn a place in next summer's UEFA European Under-19 Championship in Greece will begin their campaigns over the next few weeks as the qualifying round commences.

With six-time winners Spain given a bye to the elite round, Group 13 is the first section to kick off, in Lithuania this week. Holders Germany are in Group 2 which starts on Thursday, while Portugal – runners-up to the Germans in the 2014 final in Hungary – wait until next month to see action.

Road to Greece
• The qualifying round runs from 7 October to 18 November with mini-tournaments played in the October and November international windows.

• The top two in each section along with the third-placed nation with the best record against the leading pair will join Spain in the 28-team elite round from 23–31 March 2015.

• The seven elite round group winners then proceed to the finals together with hosts Greece next July.

• Full competition details can be found in the 2014/15 competition regulations.

2014/15 qualifying round draw
Group 1 (10–15 October):
Belgium, England, Luxembourg*, Belarus

Group 2 (9–14 October): Austria, Germany, Latvia*, Kazakhstan

Group 3 (7–12 October): Turkey, Croatia*, Iceland, Estonia

Group 4 (10–15 November): Slovakia, Hungary*, Slovenia, Azerbaijan

Group 5 (9–14 October): Russia, Czech Republic, Faroe Islands, Northern Ireland*

Group 6 (13–18 November): Republic of Ireland*, Switzerland, Malta, Gibraltar

Group 7 (12–17 November): Denmark, Portugal*, Albania, Wales

Group 8 (12–17 November): Ukraine, Israel*, Sweden, Bulgaria

Group 9 (10–15 October): Italy, Serbia*, Armenia, San Marino

Group 10 (9–14 October): Netherlands, Poland*, Andorra, Moldova

Group 11 (8–13 October): Romania, Georgia*, Cyprus, Montenegro

Group 12 (8–13 October): Bosnia and Herzegovina, France, Liechtenstein, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*

Group 13 (7–12 October): Norway, Scotland, Lithuania*, Finland


Bye to elite round: Spain

Bye to finals: Greece (hosts)

Selected for you