UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain draw Germany, Israel get England

Holders Spain will play the Netherlands, Russia and Germany while hosts Israel will face England, Norway and Italy after the draw for the Under-21 finals was made in Tel Aviv.

Spain draw Germany, Israel get England
Spain draw Germany, Israel get England ©UEFA.com

The winners of the last four UEFA European Under-21 Championships will all play in the same group at next year's finals after the draw was made in Tel Aviv.

Holders Spain were drawn in Group B alongside 2009 winners Germany, and the team who claimed back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2007, the Netherlands. Russia, in their first finals for 14 years, complete a stern-looking section.

Hosts Israel, meanwhile, were the top seeds in Group A, which was completed by England, Norway and Italy. The only country to have played in the last four finals, England will again take on Norway, whom they met in qualifying for the tournament. Israel are participating in their second finals and will meet the side that denied them a place in the 2009 version, Italy.

Speaking at the draw, Israeli Football Association (IFA) president Avraham Luzon said: "I am proud and excited. Two years ago, when Israel's bid to host the tournament was accepted, it was clear to us the great responsibility and honour that comes with hosting the second most important national team tournament in Europe. I can guarantee that all of us here in Israel are united in one mission: the success of the championship."

Former Israeli internationals and tournament ambassadors Avi Nimni and Eli Ohana assisted with the draw, which was hosted by former Israel goalkeeper Bonni Ginzburg, and the official tournament ball was also unveiled at the ceremony.

Final tournament draw
Group A
Israel (hosts)

Group B
Spain (holders)

The finals take place between 5 and 18 June 2013. The match schedule will be confirmed in due course.

Selected for you