UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023 Under-21 EURO qualifying latest

See how the road to Georgia and Romania is unfolding, with holders Germany among the teams still perfect.

Holders Germany have won both games so far with Youssoufa Moukoko on target each time
Holders Germany have won both games so far with Youssoufa Moukoko on target each time Getty Images

Qualifying for the 2023 UEFA European Under-21 Championship in Georgia and Romania is in progress, with the groups running until June 2022 and followed by play-offs that September.

In all, 53 teams compete for 14 places alongside co-hosts Georgia and Romania in June and July 2023. Some teams began their campaigns earlier this year but the first full set of games ran from Thursday to Tuesday, with holders Germany among the sides now on six points from two games.

  • Qualifying fixtures/results
  • Standings
  • The groups run until 14 June 2022.
  • The nine group winners and the best runner-up (not counting results against sixth-placed teams) will qualify directly for the final tournament, joining Georgia and Romania.
  • The other eight runners-up will play off for the remaining four finals berths in September 2022.

Qualifying groups

  • Germany will hope to defend their title in Georgia and Romania after winning the first 16-team final tournament in Hungary and Slovenia in 2021.
  • England are aiming to qualify for their ninth straight final tournament.
  • Italy hope to add to their record of qualifying 13 times since a final tournament was introduced in 1994; they have a joint-record five titles with Spain.
  • Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, San Marino and Wales are seeking to join Georgia in appearing in their first final tournament (though Albania and Bulgaria did reach the old pre-1994 eight-team two-legged knockout phase).
Top five goals: 2021 U21 EURO
Top five goals: 2021 U21 EURO

Group A: Croatia, Austria, Norway, Finland, Estonia, Azerbaijan

  • Croatia have a perfect six points after beating Azerbaijan and Finland. Austria are level but have played a game more, their loss 3-1 coming away in Norway's only match so far.

Group B: Germany (holders), Israel, Poland, Hungary, Latvia, San Marino

  • Germany began their title defence on Thursday with a 6-0 win in San Marino, then secured a 3-1 victory in Latvia. Israel also have six points after 2-1 successes in Hungary and Poland, both of whom have three points from two games.

Group C: Spain, Russia, Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Malta, Lithuania

  • Spain lost their grip on the title in June but have started qualifying well with a 4-1 pasting of Russia and 2-0 win in Lithuania. Russia, Slovakia, Malta and Northern Ireland all have three points from two games after a win and a loss apiece over the last week.

Group D: Cyprus, Greece, Iceland, Portugal, Belarus, Liechtenstein

  • Cyprus are top with seven points from three matches, including back-to-back 6-0 scalps of Liechtenstein. Greece are two points behind after drawing 1-1 in Iceland, who are a further point back with a game in hand. The 2021 runners-up Portugal began against Belarus on Monday and won 1-0 thanks to a goal from finals Player of the Tournament, Fábio Vieira.

Group E: Switzerland, Wales, Netherlands, Bulgaria, Moldova, Gibraltar

  • Switzerland lead after back-to-back 4-0 wins against Gibraltar. Wales are on four points after a 4-0 success in Bulgaria, while the Netherlands opened by beating Moldova 3-0 on Tuesday.
Italy are on a maximum six points
Italy are on a maximum six pointsGetty Images

Group F: Sweden, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Luxembourg

  • Sweden's perfect start was ended as they drew 1-1 in Bosnia and Herzegovina but they are still a point ahead of Italy, who have a game in hand after winning both their matches. Republic of Ireland are two points behind the Italians after being held by Luxembourg, with Montenegro also on four but having played two more matches.

Group G: Czech Republic, England, Kosovo, Slovenia, Albania, Andorra

  • Czech Republic have two wins out of two after beating Slovenia and Albania. England began on Tuesday by overcoming Kosovo 2-0. Kosovo, Slovenia and Albania all have three points from two games as each beat Andorra.
Rhian Brewster got England going against Kosovo with an early penalty
Rhian Brewster got England going against Kosovo with an early penaltyThe FA via Getty Images

Group H: France, Faroe Islands, Ukraine, Armenia, Serbia, North Macedonia

  • France kicked off on Thursday with a 3-0 win against Montenegro but on Monday were frustrated 1-1 in the Faroe Islands, who are level with four points with Les Bluets but have played a game more after exchanging 2-0 home wins with Armenia. Ukraine have won their only match, 1-0 in Serbia, who are level with North Macedonia on one point after Tuesday's 0-0 draw.

Group I: Belgium, Denmark, Scotland, Kazakhstan, Turkey

  • Belgium prevailed 3-1 in Kazakhstan in June to open the group and then triumphed 3-0 in Turkey on Friday. On Tuesday, Denmark won 1-0 in Kazakhstan and Scotland drew 1-1 in Turkey as both commenced their campaigns with away trips.

Qualifying group stage schedule

25–29 March 2021
4–8 June 2021
2–7 September 2021
7–12 October 2021

11–16 November 2021

24–29 March 2022
2–14 June 2022