UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2025 Under-21 EURO in Slovakia: Tournament information

Slovakia will stage the 2025 UEFA European Under-21 Championship.


Slovakia will host the 2025 UEFA European Under-21 Championship.

The appointment of the Slovak Football Association (SFZ) was made by the UEFA Executive Committee in January 2023. The matches will be played in eight venues in eight different cities across the country.

Qualifying latest

The 2025 finals will be the third since the expansion to 16 teams, following the 2021 edition in Hungary and Slovenia, and the 2023 tournament in Georgia and Romania.

Hosts Slovakia will be joined in the finals in summer 2025 by 15 teams emerging from qualifying running until late 2024.

Slovakia previously hosted the 2000 U21 finals, the first to feature a group stage. It was also the venue for the 2013 U17 EURO, 2016 Women's U19 EURO and 2022 U19 EURO,

2023 final highlights: England 1-0 Spain

How does U21 EURO work?

The 16 teams will be drawn into four groups of four for the final tournament, with the winners and runners-up in each section reaching the quarter-finals. There will be a standard knockout format from there with extra time and penalties if needed.

What are the proposed U21 EURO stadiums?

National Football Stadium, Bratislava
Anton Malatinský Stadium, Trnava
DAC Aréna, Dunajská Streda
FC Nitra Stadium, Nitra
Sihoť Stadium, Trenčín
MŠK Žilina Stadium, Žilina
Košice Football Arena, Košice
Tatran Arena, Prešov

What are the U21 EURO qualifying match dates?

Group stage
20–28 March 2023
12–20 June 2023
4–12 September 2023
9–17 October 2023
13–21 November 2023
18–26 March 2024
2–10 September 2024
7–15 October 2024
11–19 November 2024

2023 Under-21 EURO top ten goals

U21 EURO final tournament hosts

16 teams
: Slovakia
: Georgia & Romania
: Hungary & Slovenia

12 teams
: Italy
2017: Poland

8 teams
2015: Czechia
2013: Israel
2011: Denmark
2009: Sweden
2007: Netherlands
2006: Portugal
2004: Germany
2002: Switzerland
2000: Slovakia
1998: Romania*

4 teams
1996: Spain*
1994: France*

*Straight knockout

Prior to 1994, the quarter-finals onwards were played over two legs on a home-and-away basis.

U21 EURO: Past finals

UEFA European Under-21 Championship

16-team final tournaments
2023: England 1-0 Spain
2021: Germany 1-0 Portugal

12-team final tournaments
2019: Spain 2-1 Germany
2017: Germany 1-0 Spain

Eight-team final tournaments (including group stage)
2015: Sweden 0-0aet, 4-3pens Portugal
2013: Spain 4-2 Italy
2011: Spain 2-0 Switzerland
2009: Germany 4-0 England
2007: Netherlands 4-1 Serbia
2006: Netherlands 3-0 Ukraine
2004: Italy 4-0 Serbia and Montenegro
2002: Czechia 0-0aet, 3-1pens France
2000: Italy 2-1 Czechia

Eight-team final tournaments (knockout)
1998: Spain 1-0 Greece

Four-team final tournaments (knockout)
1996: Italy 1-1aet, 4-2pens Spain
1994: Italy 1-0aet Portugal

Two-legged final
1992: Italy 2-1agg Sweden
1990: Soviet Union 7-3agg Yugoslavia
1988: France 3-0agg Greece
1986: Spain 3-3agg, 3-0pens Italy
1984: England 3-0agg Spain
1982: England 5-4agg West Germany
1980: Soviet Union 1-0agg East Germany
1978: Yugoslavia 5-4agg East Germany

UEFA European Under-23 Championship

Two-legged final
1976: Soviet Union 3-2agg Hungary
1974: Hungary 6-3agg East Germany
1972: Czechoslovakia 5-3agg Soviet Union