UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Women's Champions League begins

The journey to the 2010/11 UEFA Women's Champions League final in London starts across the continent on Thursday when the seven qualifying round mini-tournaments get under way.

The UEFA Women's Champions League trophy will be won in London next May
The UEFA Women's Champions League trophy will be won in London next May ©Sportsfile

The 2010/11 UEFA Women's Champions League begins on Thursday with two former European titleholders among the 28 clubs in action in the qualifying round which can be followed live on UEFA.com's MatchCentre.

In all, seven four-team mini-tournaments will be played on Thursday, Saturday and next Tuesday with the contestants including eight clubs entered as runners-up from the highest-ranked leagues. Among them are the 2008/09 UEFA Women's Cup winners, FCR 2001 Duisburg, and two-time European champions Umeå IK, both of whom reached the semi-finals last season. Duisburg are in Group 7 in Northern Ireland while Umeå head to Cyprus for Group 3.

The group winners and the two runners-up with the best records against the sides first and third in their pool will join the teams given byes to the knockout phase, including holders 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, in the draw for the rounds of 32 and 16 on 19 August. The competition will continue as a two-legged knockout until the one-off final held in London on Thursday 26 May, two days before the men's UEFA Champions League decider at Wembley.

2010/11 UEFA Women's Champions League qualifying round
5-10 August
Mini-tournament hosts in bold
*Entering as national runners-up
Group 1
Group 2
Brøndby IF (DEN)*
Everton (ENG)*
FC NSA Sofia (BUL)
Gintra Universitetas (LTU)
FC Roma Calfa (MDA)
Klaksvíkar Ítrottarfelag (FRO)
Gazi Üniversitesi SK (TUR)
ZFK Borec (MKD)
Group 3
Group 4
Umeå IK (SWE)*
FCF Juvisy Essonne (FRA)*
WFC SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)
Breidablik (ISL)*
ASA Tel-Aviv (ISR)
FCM Târgu Mureş (ROU)
Apollon Limassol LFC (CYP)
FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Group 5
Group 6
CF Bardolino Verona (ITA)*
FC Rossiyanka (RUS)*
ŽNK Krka (SVN)SU 1° Dezembro (POR)
Swansea City Ladies AFC (WAL)
NK Osijek (CRO)
FC Baia Zugdidi (GEO)
St Francis FC (IRL)
Group 7
Bye to round of 32
FCR 2001 Duisburg (GER)*
23 teams
Glasgow City FC (SCO)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
Crusaders Newtownabbey Strikers WFC (NIR)