Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

Ireland and Hungary have the honour

The Republic of Ireland and Hungary will kick off the qualifying group stage on 1 April next year, the first of 120 matches running until 2 October 2008.

The Republic of Ireland and Hungary will kick off the UEFA WOMEN'S EURO 2009™ qualifying group stage on 1 April next year, the first of 120 matches in the six groups running until 2 October 2008.

Irish start
Ireland welcome Hungary in the first Group 2 fixture, and ten days later France will be the first 2005 qualifier to open their campaign against Greece in Group 3. The following day holders Germany welcome Group 4 rivals the Netherlands, and the same day Slovakia and Portugal begin Group 5. Group 6 starts with Poland’s 5 May trip to Austria, a day on which Group 2 matches the only two 2005 qualifiers drawn in the same pool - Italy and Sweden. Group 1 commences eight days later when England take on Northern Ireland, while of the other 2005 finalists, runners-up Norway go to Israel in Group 6 on 17 June, but Denmark wait until after the FIFA Women's World Cup in September, welcoming Portugal in Group 5 on 27 October.

Final fixtures
The final fixtures on the first two days of October include some potentially pivotal matches. Group 5 is the first to finish as Denmark welcome fast improving Ukraine and the next day Spain go to England in Group 1, Italy face Group 2 opponents Hungary, Group 3 concludes with Greece playing Slovenia, Germany finish Group 4 in Switzerland and Group 6 matches Russia and Norway.

Opening games team-by-team

Group 1
England: v Northern Ireland (h) 13 May
Czech Republic: v Northern Ireland (a) 26 May
Spain: v Belarus (a) 30 May
Belarus: v Spain (h) 30 May
Northern Ireland: v England (a) 13 May

Group 2
Sweden: v Italy (a) 5 May
Italy: v Sweden (h) 5 May
Hungary: v Republic of Ireland (a) 1 April
Republic of Ireland: v Hungary (h) 1 April
Romania: v Republic of Ireland (h) 25 August

Group 3
France: v Greece (h) 11 April
Iceland: v Greece (a) 31 May
Serbia: v Slovenia (a) 5 May
Greece: v France (a) 11 April
Slovenia: v Serbia (h) 5 May

Group 4
Germany: v Netherlands (h) 12 April
Netherlands: v Germany (a) 12 April
Switzerland: v Belgium (h) 5 May
Belgium: v Switzerland (a) 5 May
Wales: v Germany (h) 10 May

Group 5
Denmark: v Portugal (h) 27 October
Ukraine: v Scotland (h) 30 May
Scotland: v Portugal (h) 6 May
Portugal: v Slovakia (a) 12 April
Slovakia: v Portugal (h) 12 April

Group 6
Norway: v Israel (a) 17 June
Russia: v Israel (a) 30 May
Poland: v Austria (a) 5 May
Austria: v Poland (h) 5 May
Israel: v Poland (h) 10 May