UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

WU17 EURO elite round guide

The elite round runs until 2 April with 24 teams, including all three past winners and two debutants at this stage, competing for seven berths in the finals in the Czech Republic.

Germany are hoping to retain their title in May
Germany are hoping to retain their title in May ©Getty Images

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship elite round begins on Monday with 24 teams competing for seven berths in the final tournament in the Czech Republic – and with Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland and Belgium making it a perfect ten appearances at this stage.

Elite round groups
Group 1 (27 March–1 April):
Austria, Netherlands*, Slovenia, Switzerland

• Slovenia are in the elite round for the first time while Switzerland were overall runners-up in 2015.

Group 2 (20–25 March): Norway, Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Wales

• Bosnia and Herzegovina are hosting the mini-tournament having reached the elite round for the first time. Norway made the semi-finals last season.

Group 3 (25–30 March): Germany (holders), Poland, England*, Italy

• Last term Germany won the competition for the fifth time in its nine editions, beating England in the semi-finals as well as holding Italy 0-0 in the group stage to ultimately pip them to the last four. Poland, in 2013, were the only nation other than Germany and Spain to lift the trophy.

Group 4 (13–18 March): Republic of Ireland, Hungary, Scotland, Serbia*

• Serbia made their finals debut last year while Hungary are attempting to earn one this time around. Ireland were 2010 runners-up.

Group 5 (24–29 March): France*, Greece, Belgium, Russia

• France have qualified six times, finishing second on three occasions and third twice. Belgium are the only other side in this group to have participated in the finals, in 2013.

Group 6 (28 March–2 April): Spain, Sweden, Iceland, Portugal*

• Spain, who received a bye to this round, have claimed the title three times and taken part in the last three finals. Sweden have also been runners-up in the past.


Bye to finals: Czech Republic (hosts)

• The six group winners and the runner-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their pool qualify to join hosts the Czech Republic in the finals from 2 to 14 May. The draw is on 7 April in Pilsen.

2016 semi-final highlights: England 3-4 Germany