Spain learn Women's U17 draw fate

Holders Spain must overcome the Czech Republic, Belgium and Italy in the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship second qualifying round following the draw in Nyon.

Spain are aiming to emulate their success last summer

UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship holders Spain have been drawn with the Czech Republic, Belgium and Italy in the second qualifying round.

Four finals places will be filled by the winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments, whose composition was decided in Nyon today. Germany, who won the first two editions in 2008 and 2009, are up against Denmark, Finland and Russia as they attempt to continue their record of reaching every final tournament.

The finals are played opposite UEFA's Nyon headquarters and if Switzerland are to compete there on home soil they must top Scotland, Wales and France, runners-up in the inaugural 2008 edition. Iceland, who had the best record in the autumn's first qualifying round with three wins and 29 goals, play Sweden, England and Poland.

Matches will be played in April, and in the semi-finals in Nyon on 28 July the winners of Group 1 face the winners of Group 2, with the other qualifiers then to meet. The final and third-place play-off are three days later.

Second qualifying round draw (hosts in bold)
Group 1 (9-14 April): Iceland, Sweden, England, Poland

Group 2 (9-14 April): Spain, Czech Republic, Belgium, Italy

Group 3 (21-26 April): Germany, Denmark, Finland, Russia

Group 4 (9-14 April): Switzerland, Scotland, Wales, France

Semi-finals (Nyon, 28 July)
Winner Group 1 v Winner Group 2
Winner Group 3 v Winner Group 4

Related Items