UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Women's Under-17 finals in sight

The two sides who between them have won all four Women's U17 titles, current champions Spain and Germany, have been drawn in the same second qualifying round group.

France hope to top the first group to begin
France hope to top the first group to begin ©Boris Kharchenko

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship second qualifying round kicks off on Monday – but just one of the two nations that between them have won all four editions of the tournament will make it to the finals.

Only the winners of the four second qualifying round groups progress to the knockout finals at the Colovray Stadium in UEFA's Swiss home town of Nyon from 26 to 29 June. Spain, who have won there for the last two years, will stage Group 4 from 10 April and among their opponents will be Germany, champions in 2008 and 2009 and third in 2010 and 2011.

That will be the second mini-tournament to begin; the first is Group 2, which features the last two runners-up – France and the Republic of Ireland – alongside hosts Norway and Poland from Monday 19 March until Saturday 24 March. The winners of that section will face the side that finishes top of Group 1, which includes Switzerland – hoping to play in the final tournament on home turf for the first time – as well as England, home side Belgium and last season's fourth-placed team Iceland.

Awaiting the Group 4 winners in the Nyon semi-finals, meanwhile, will be the country that tops Group 3, which ends on 1 May and sees the Netherlands, Sweden and Finland take on hosts Denmark. The championship also acts as a qualifier for the 2012 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Azerbaijan, with the first two in Nyon joining the hosts in the global competition from 22 September to 13 October.

Second qualifying round
Group 1:
Switzerland, England, Belgium*, Iceland
(13-18 April)

Group 2: France, Norway*, Republic of Ireland, Poland
(19-24 March)

Group 3: Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark*, Finland
(26 April-1 May)

Group 4: Germany, Spain* (holders), Czech Republic, Serbia
(10-15 April)


Final tournament (Colovray Stadium, Nyon)

Semi-finals (26 June)
Winner Group 1 v Winner Group 2
Winner Group 3 v Winner Group 4

Third-place play-off (29 June)
Loser semi-final 1 v Loser semi-final 2

Final (29 June)
Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2