2011/12 first qualifying round draw made

Spain, the current holders, will begin their 2011/12 campaign against Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Azerbaijan after today's first qualifying round draw in Switzerland.


Spain, currently defending the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship, will begin their 2011/12 campaign against Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan after the first qualifying round draw was made in Nyon.

In all 40 teams were split into ten one-venue mini-tournaments to be played next September and October. The group winners and the four runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their pool will join top seeds Germany and the Netherlands in the second qualifying round in spring 2012. The four group winners in that round will progress to the finals at the Colovray Stadium in UEFA's Swiss home town of Nyon that August.

First qualifying round draw (hosts in bold)
Group 1 (15-20 October): Switzerland, Poland, Georgia, Latvia

Group 2 (10-15 October): Republic of Ireland, Italy, Romania, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Group 3 (17-22 October): Sweden, Hungary, Croatia, Bulgaria

Group 4 (2-7 October): Norway, Russia, Slovenia, Lithuania

Group 5 (14-19 October): France, Wales, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group 6 (11-16 October): England, Finland, Israel, Northern Ireland

Group 7 (29 September-4 October): Denmark, Turkey, Greece, Serbia

Group 8 (30 September-5 October): Czech Republic, Belgium, Belarus, Estonia

Group 9 (30 September-5 October): Spain, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan

Group 10 (7-12 October): Scotland, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Austria

Byes to second qualifying round: Germany, Netherlands