UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Road to Wales begins with draw

Forty of the 44 entrants for the 2012/13 edition enter the first qualifying round, for which ten groups of four teams will be formed on 15 November with the aim a place in the finals in Wales.

The first draw of the 2012/13 season will contain 40 teams
The first draw of the 2012/13 season will contain 40 teams ©UEFA.com

The road to the 2012/13 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship will begin with the first qualifying round draw at 10.15CET on 15 November in Nyon.

In all 44 teams have entered the competition, with Wales progressing directly to the finals as hosts for the first time. The teams have been seeded according to the coefficient ranking list, with the highest three nations – Germany, France and England – given byes to the second qualifying round.

For the first qualifying round, held from 20 to 25 October 2012, the countries ranked 4 to 23 will be placed in Pot A and teams 24 to 43 in Pot B. The ten groups will contain two teams from each pot with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments. Helping to make the draw will be Ramona Petzelberger, captain of last season's winners Germany, who will receive the Fair Play trophy on behalf of her team.

The top two in each group and the third-placed side with the best record against the leading pair in their section will join Germany, France and England in the second qualifying round from 4 to 9 April 2013. The eight-team final tournament will run from 19 to 31 August of that year.

Seeding pots
Pot A:
Norway, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium, Russia, Austria, Iceland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Poland, Czech Republic, Finland, Hungary, Ukraine, Portugal, Serbia

Pot B: Croatia, Romania, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Israel, Slovenia, Lithuania, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Bulgaria, Belarus, Greece, Northern Ireland, Moldova, Kazakhstan, Cyprus, Latvia, Estonia, Faroe Islands