UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Next season: Slovakia

Slovakia will host the 2016 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship.

Linda Lacková in U19 action in 2011
Linda Lacková in U19 action in 2011 ©SFZ

Slovakia will stage the 2016 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship following a decision at the UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Istanbul in March 2012.

The finals, scheduled for between 19 and 31 July 2016, will be Slovakia's first UEFA women's final tournament. The country has held two men's competitions, though: the 2000 UEFA European U21 Championship that helped launch Andrea Pirlo's career and the 2015 UEFA European U17 Championship.

Route to the finals
In all, 47 nations have entered the competition, with 44 of them starting in the qualifying round which takes place between 15 and 20 September 2015. The top two in each group join top seeds Spain and England in the elite round, provisionally held from 5–10 April 2016. Seven teams will eventually qualify for the finals to join Slovakia.