Next season: Italy

Holders France kick off their defence in Slovenia in September as the road to Rimini, Italy, venue for the 2010/11 final tournament, begins with 44 countries contesting the first qualifying round.

The first qualifying round draw was made in December
The first qualifying round draw was made in December ©

The process to decide who will join hosts Italy at the 2010/11 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship final tournament begins in September when the first qualifying round gets under way.

Champions in 2007/08, Italy will stage the event from 30 May to 11 June 2011. Seven teams will take on the hosts in the finals, with top seeds Germany given a bye to the second qualifying round between 31 March and 5 April 2011. The other 44 entrants will be split into eleven groups of four in the first stage, with round-robin games played from 11 to 16 September 2010. The top two in each section progress along with the third-placed side with the best record against the leading pair in their pool.

2010/11 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship
irst qualifying round, 11-16 September 2010
Hosts in bold
Group 1 Group 2
England Azerbaijan
Finland Belgium
Moldova Estonia
Armenia Lithuania
Group 3 Group 4
Denmark Austria
Spain Hungary
Greece Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Latvia
Group 5 Group 6
Switzerland Wales
Poland France
FYROM Georgia
Kazakhstan Slovenia
Group 7 Group 8
Norway Scotland
Netherlands Sweden
Belarus Serbia
Faroe Islands Slovakia
Group 9 Group 10
Romania Iceland
Czech Republic Ukraine
Turkey Bulgaria
Northern Ireland Israel
Group 11 Byes
Republic of Ireland Italy (to finals, hosts)
Russia Germany (to second qualifying round)