UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: Australia/New Zealand

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August.

FIFA via Getty Images

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be played in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August.

There will be 32 finalists including both hosts with 11 or 12 European nations involved. The United States will aim for a third straight title.

All the matches



Group A: New Zealand (hosts), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia (hosts), Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Winner Group B play-off*, Denmark, China PR

Group E: United States (holders), Vietnam, Netherlands, Winner Group A play-off*

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Winner Group C play-off*

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

*Inter-Confederation play-offs: 18 to 23 February, New Zealand

Group A: Portugal vs Cameroon/Thailand
Group B: Chile vs Senegal/Haiti
Group C: Chinese Taipei/Paraguay vs Papua New Guinea/Panama

UEFA nations in bold

Continental allocation

Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
AFC: 5 (China, Japan, Philippines*, South Korea, Vietnam*)
CAF: 4 (Morocco*, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia*)
CONCACAF: 4 (Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, United States)
CONMEBOL: 3 (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia)
UEFA: 11 (Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Republic of Ireland*, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland)
Inter-confederation play-offs: 3



Adelaide (Hindmarsh Stadium)
Brisbane (Brisbane Stadium)
Melbourne (Melbourne Rectangular Stadium)
Perth (Perth Rectangular Stadium)
Sydney (Sydney Football Stadium/Stadium Australia)

New Zealand
Auckland (Eden Park)
Dunedin (Dunedin Stadium)
Hamilton (Waikato Stadium)
Wellington (Wellington Regional Stadium)

Inter-confederation play-offs

A ten-team tournament will be held from 18 to 23 February 2023 in New Zealand to decide the last three finalists.

Group A

Saturday 18 February
Cameroon vs Thailand (Hamilton)
Wednesday 22 February
Portugal vs Cameroon/Thailand (Hamilton)

Group B

Semi-final: Saturday 18 February
Senegal vs Haiti (Auckland)
Final: Wednesday 22 February
Chile vs Senegal/Haiti (Auckland)

Group C 

Semi-finals: Sunday 19 February
Chinese Taipei vs Paraguay (Hamilton)
Papua New Guinea vs Panama (Auckland)

Final: Thursday 23 February
Chinese Taipei/Paraguay vs Papua New Guinea/Panama (Hamilton)

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)

2019: United States 2-0 Netherlands; Lyon, France
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)

2021: Canada (gold), Sweden (silver), United States (bronze); Yokohama, Japan (postponed from 2020, final moved from Tokyo)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

European qualifying


The winners of the nine qualifying groups progressed directly to the finals with the runners-up taking part in the UEFA play-offs on 6 and 11 October 2022.

In the play-offs, the three best runners-up were seeded directly to round 2 of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up contested three single-leg play-offs in round 1.

The three winners from round 1 and the three teams seeded directly to round 2 then competed in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.

The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs; Switzerland and Republic of Ireland) qualified for the finals. The remaining play-off winner (Portugal) will compete in the inter-confederation play-offs in New Zealand.


Qualifying group stage
13–21 September 2021
18–26 October 2021
22–30 November 2021
4–12 April 2022
1–6 September 2022

UEFA play-offs
6 & 11 October 2022